Christmas Eve

We had a huge day today.  We started off the morning with breakfast at The Original Pancake House.  This has been a tradition for quite some time to go every Christmas Eve morning and stuff our faces.  And that is exactly what we did.  We had pancakes out our ears, but who doesn’t like pancakes?

1.jpg

 

Right after breakfast we went over to Nana and Papa’s house to celebrate.  The minute we got there Nana needed to go to a store with me to pick out a center piece for her table for Christmas dinner.  I didn’t mind since the kids were going down for naps anyway.  The little store that we went to was packed with people.  They didn’t have any centerpieces and then didn’t have any more products to make one there on the spot.  They sent us home with a bag full of live garland and holly.  We picked out a few nice ornaments, bought those and went home.

My mom doesn’t feel like she’s very creative, but I think otherwise.  She had me put something together real quick before I ran on another errand with my dad.  Here’s a picture, I don’t think it’s bad.  What’a you think?

dsc00906.jpg

I thought I did a pretty darn good job.  Anyway, after the centerpiece was complete we did any and all last minute wrapping of presents.  Jared was nice enough to do that while the kids were still napping because me dad needed to take me to RC Wiley to “discuss” some present options and pick up something.  Really he was just using me.  He needed to strap the present that he got for the family to the luggage rack on the top of our car.  They just recently got rid of their Toyota Sequoia SUV and got a new Chrysler 300.  They just don’t need that much space anymore, so they downsized.  Well the 300 doesn’t have the space to carry a huge 4×4 leather ottoman, so he used my car.  While we were there, my dad showed me some things that he was looking at to give my mom for their anniversary on the 29th.  I can’t tell you too much right now because certain people read this and they might find out about it and spoil the surprise.  But I helped him pick it out and we bought it and it will be delivered on Saturday.  I’m so excited for her to get it!

By the time I got back to the house the kids were starting to wake up.  We then frosted and decorated sugar cookies for Santa and his reindeer.  The rest of the day was pretty relaxed, but Nana got a big head ache and didn’t want to go to our traditional Christmas Eve movie night.  So, after a 20 minute massage and a 10 minute nap she was revved up to go see Alvin and the Chipmunks.  We all made it to the 7:40 showing of the movie.  Here’s a preview for you.

I loved the movie.  I though it was well made for having three talking chipmunks in it.  After the movie we changed the kids into their jammies and then headed back home.  It was only about 8:45 so we thought the kids might get a good nights sleep and leave us a little time to get things ready for tomorrow.

When we got home, Benjamin recited ‘The Night Before Christmas’ for everyone.  That’s right, he has it memorized.  We have only been reading it for about two weeks now, but he has it down pretty darn well.  There are a few lines that he needs help with but who cares, he’s four!  I was fortunate to get it on video.  It’s in three sections but you can hear how well he did.  Each section is about 2 1/2 minutes but it is well worth it.

Goodnight!

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Combs Family, Family, Johnson Family, Kids

Leave a Reply

