Visiting the N.I.C.U.

I love my night nurse!  She bent some of the rules tonight to make it possible for me to visit Jacob.

Normally, a cesarean patient isn’t allowed to walk, or attempt to walk, until around 24 hours after the surgery.  This is due to the fact that you’ve been given an epidural or a spinal block resulting in a temporary loss of mobility.  The 24 hours is to give your body adequate time to recover so that you don’t fall and injure yourself while trying to walk to the bathroom or anywhere else.

I was so heartbroken to hear that I wasn’t going to see my baby for some time.  My nurse was in the room when I was crying and asking Jared if he would go to the NICU and take pictures so that I could have some way of seeing him.  That’s when she asked me if I thought I could make it to a wheelchair.  I was so surprised to hear what she was saying I practically yelled “YES” to her.

This was about 5 hours after Jacob was born (10:00 pm) and I had the majority of the feeling back in my legs.  At least enough for me to push myself and work really hard to make it seem like nothing was wrong.  I wasn’t about to let some minor problem like me not having full feeling in my legs prevent me from walking the five or six steps needed to  get into a wheelchair so that I could see our son.

dscn1105  dscn1107  dscn1106

dscn1110  dscn1111  dscn1109

Once I was wheeled into the NICU I was able to get a real grasp on how things were.  He was in an open NICU bed with wires attached everywhere.  You could see his chest rising and falling at irregular timing.  Being in that room with all of those other sick babies was such a blow to my emotions.

The only way we were allowed to hold him was at the foot of his bed because the wires were only so long.  It didn’t feel the same as when we first held our other kids.  It felt impersonal, almost like we were holding someone else’s baby as they stood by and watched.

Since there are certain visiting hours for children in the NICU (5:00 pm- 5:30 pm), but we were able to somehow sneak Benjamin and Emma in to see their baby brother.  They were able to hold him for only a minute, but you could tell that in that time they fell in love with him.  Unfortunately, Joseph didn’t get that chance.  With Jared sneaking in the two older kids he got in trouble from one of the staff and couldn’t get Joseph in after that.  How sad that once Joseph became a big brother he couldn’t even see the little person that gave him that title.  We’ll have to wait ’til 5:00 pm so that Joseph can get in to see his little brother!

dscn1102  dscn1097  dscn1099  dscn1098

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Brianna, Combs Family, Emma, Jacob, Johnson Family, Joseph

Leave a Reply

