A month after the fact…

It took my husband a month to tell me more specifics about Jacob’s birth.  It’s not that he forgot to tell me, he just wanted to make sure that I was mentally able to handle it.  He did the same thing with all of the other kids’ births.  As much as I like to think that I’m tough skinned after having four c-sections and thinking that nothing could surprise me,  it’s nice to have someone looking out for you.

We were talking during one of our late night feedings and I was mentioning to him how good I felt.  It’s normally not quite like this for me.  The pain is usually still present, not anything major but just enough to make dealing with the kids a bit harder.  Also, my scar isn’t bothering me AT ALL!!!  Normally there’s a lot of pulling and tugging that causes discomfort as the incision heals.  I had a little of that for the first week but I have been 100% ever since.  People, as well as myself, are so surprised to see me out and about only weeks after having my fourth and a cesarean at that!

Well, the other night Jared started telling me that it was probably because of the way that  Dr. Brill performed the procedure.  I didn’t know that it was any different from the others so I was really surprised when he described everything to me.

First of all, you have to get an idea of what I’m facing as I’m laying there on the operating table.  I’m strapped down to the table and there is a blue sheet put up at my chest to keep everything below my chest sterile.  This also creates a problem with me being able to see everything being done to me which is probably a good thing or I’d go running out of the OR.  All I have to rely on is my ears and nose, and then of course Jared!  You can hear the suction going as they suck up the blood and then you can smell the burning flesh as they cauterize the cut.  I’m normally fine with all of it because Jared is there holding my hand and I never see or feel any signs of distress on his face.  Then, about 20-30 minutes into the procedure, you feel a lot of tugging and some pressure on your chest and upper abdomen as they push and pull the baby out.

What Jared purposefully left out was that during all that tugging and pulling Dr. Brill had made a small incision and then ripped my abdomen open.  Yes that’s right- ripped!  He said that Dr. Brill made a small incision through five layers of skin and muscle and then grabbed each side and yanked.  His reasoning behind this was that the body recovers more quickly when it is torn instead of cut.  When you tear or rip your skin it follows a natural line instead of the blade of a knife creating its own.  The same thing can be applied to tearing or having an episiotomy.  You heal faster if you were to tear as opposed to having the doctor cut you.

So thanks babe for not telling me because I don’t know how I would have reacted to the news that my doctor was ripping me open!!! 😀

1 Comment

Filed under Brianna, Jared, pregnancy

One response to “A month after the fact…

  1. Shannon McKenney

    I’m speechless! I don’t even know how to begin to comment here……

    Well, I’ve never heard of this being done with a c-section. Ever. I’ve had an episiotomy & I’ve torn naturally. It’s really true that you heal faster with the tear. I’ve just never heard of it being done with a c-section. I’m blown away, actually. Maybe it’s from the mental picture more than anything. LOL

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing so well. You look radiant, still. 🙂

Leave a Reply

