The Perfect Day

Today was my birthday and I can honestly say that I got and did everything that I wanted to.  I remember as a kid asking my mom what she wanted for her birthday and she would always respond, “I want you all (speaking of me and my brothers) to get along and be happy”.  I used to always think that was such a lame answer and wanted to know what she really wanted.  It wasn’t until today that I realized exactly what she was talking about.

The day started off perfect with Jared letting me sleep in ’til 9:00 am.  He was able to go into work late so he took care of the older kids when they woke up until they all came in and woke me up with breakfast in bed.  They made me eggs, french toast, cottage cheese, fruit, and orange juice.  I have to say that even though it was a very large breakfast it was really good!  Jared then went and fed the other kids, and after they were done he cleaned up all the dishes!  How perfect is he 🙂 .

While he was at the office I was able to take a shower with baby Jacob (his first).  It was so much fun!  I love giving my little babies showers instead of baths.  In fact, I don’t think we have any “first bath” pictures for our kids because we’re always in the shower.

After the shower I fed the kids lunch and then we ALL went down for naps!  It was so restful and so nice to snuggle with my kids.  After naps we all just played around the house in our pajamas until daddy got home from work.

Since I had doubled the recipe for dinner last night I didn’t have to cook dinner tonight.  I just microwaved the leftovers and daddy made a couple side dishes and we were set.

Thank you everyone for making my birthday a day to remember!

6 Comments

Filed under Brianna, Jacob, Jared, Kids

6 responses to “The Perfect Day

  1. Happy Birthday! I’m so glad that you got to have such a great day. You even got to sleep in! NOw that is just awesome!

  2. Happy Birthday to both of you! I’m glad you both had wonderful days. 🙂

  3. Jessica Lindquist

    Happy Birthday- I totally thought your birthday was on the 12th. Am I crazy?

  4. Elaine

    Happy Birthday! What a great day – I’m glad you were able to enjoy it and that Jared was able to stay home and help it start out so fabulous.

    I LOVE to shower with my babies, there is something wonderful about holding them so close.

  5. Elaine-
    That’s exactly how I feel! I love how they cling to you and there’s just something special about that skin on skin contact. Hope you’re enjoying your little Annaliese!

Leave a Reply

