Registering for School

I just found out today that school registration is next Wednesday.  We need Benjamin’s birth certificate and up to date shot records.  I have the certificate but the shots are not up to date.  Since we need them so soon we made an appointment with the doctor for tomorrow morning and he’ll get whatever he needs.

I’m not really looking forward to this, but who really enjoys taking their kids to get shots.  I think it could actually be worse than taking Jacob just because of his age and his awareness  to what’s going on around him.

I’m a little disappointed that I’m enrolling him in public school.  For the past two years I have been homeschooling him.  He has made so much progress, but recently (the last 6 months or so) Benjamin has really been lashing out in Primary, with other little friends in the neighborhood, and playgroups.  He doesn’t seem to understand how to communicate outside of the house with other kids.  I wish we could have found a co-op somewhere in town that we could have joined but even then I don’t know if it would be enough.

Since Jacob was born his schooling hasn’t been as regular as it should be.  Benjamin works so much better when things are structured and I’m afraid that I haven’t been the source for that structure.

The good thing is that if Benjamin decides that public school isn’t right for him, or if I find that the school he’s attending isn’t doing it’s job, we can always go back to plan A (homeschooling).

1 Comment

Filed under Benjamin, Brianna, homeschooling

One response to “Registering for School

  1. You are right, if he decides he doesn’t like public school then you can go back to homeschooling. Hope all goes well with the shots and school.

Leave a Reply

