Parting Brings Sorrow

dog-pileBrandon came by this morning to say goodbye to me and the kids.  He and Korina were driving back to North Dakota by way of Salt Lake.

As you can see, the kids were excited to see him.  They played for about a half an hour until it was actually time to say our good-byes.

push-upsWhile Brandon was at our place the kids did everything in their power to exhaust him physically.  They had him throwing them up in the air and catching them, they wrestled with him, and they each took turns while he did push-ups with them on his back.  That’s exhausting enough without having to do the other activities first, but he was a very willing uncle.

dscn1292Jacob was the only one who just snuggled with Brandon.  I could tell that they both enjoyed their quiet time together because Brandon kept sticking his face in Jacob’s neck and breathing him in.  That’s one of my favorite things to do too because you can smell the baby, whisper to the baby, and feel their smooth, soft skin all at the same time.

I don’t know why (and I don’t want to read too much into it because my mind goes straight to the worst possible reason why I feel sad) but every time I look at this picture I get a little choked up.  I love seeing my kids with my brothers and sister.  It means so much that they are in our lives and that they want to be in my children’s lives.  I know too many people that don’t know who their uncles or aunts are because there is friction between them and the parents.  Not saying that my relationships with my siblings are perfect, but I do know that we all care for one another and we don’t let bad feelings between us last too long.

on-guard

Brandon stole Joseph’s heart when he started playing “For Narnia” with him.  (That’s something that Joseph likes to play around the house.  He likes to be King Peter and fight the other Narnians).  It got me a little nervous when he started playing it while still holding Jacob but Brandon didn’t want to let go or stop playing with any of them (I don’t blame him).

dscn1286All too soon we had to say good-bye to Brandon and I think none was more sad than I.

I hope that Brandon will be able to come visit with us once more before he goes, but I won’t hold my breath.

Hope you had fun, Brandon.  Know that you will be missed and that we’ll have your picture out for the kids to see everyday.  We love you tremendously and will pray for your safety everyday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Brandon, Kids

Leave a Reply

