Stake Track Meet

DSCN1423Today was such a fun experience, one that I hope to remember (as well as my kids) for many years to come.

Today, our Stake held a 5K track meet.  They have been advertising it for the last couple months.  Jared and I have been running on a fairly regular basis to get ready for it.

I decided to walk the 5K instead of running it because all four of the kids ended up coming with me.  It was actually pretty fun!  Jacob was the perfect little guy in the stroller; Joseph and Emma switched back and forth between riding on my back, walking, and sitting on the stroller; Benjamin walked/ ran the entire 3.2 miles all by himself!!!  All the kids were amazing for going the distance with me especially in what they were dressed in.  I dressed them all in pants, socks, and tennis shoes.

When we first woke this morning there were dark clouds in the sky and it looked like it was going to be a cold, windy day.  It was chilly for the first part of the morning but then the sun came out and that’s when we all started to hate the clothes that we were wearing.

DSCN1425One of my favorite moments was at the very end of the track meet.  They held several little 100 meter and 400 meter races for kids.  It went according to age.  Unfortunately, I put Benjamin in one of the older groups and he had to run 400 meters.  He was dead tired toward the end- after trying to keep up with the older boys, but he finished and that’s all that matters!

DSCN1430

Emma and Joseph joined the little toddler race.  It was so cute to watch all the little ones line up to do what they had been watching their mommies and daddies do all morning.  They didn’t even run a full 100 meters but somehow Joseph spotted a cooler on the way to the finish line and made a detour for some Icee pops 😀  That kid just cracks me up!!!

It was such a wonderful morning.  I love how our stake came together to produce such a successful activity that encouraged so many to improve their health and activity.  I hope that it made a lasting impression on my children.

2 Comments

Filed under Church Stuff, Family, Kids

2 responses to “Stake Track Meet

  1. Hey, that’s a picture of me in the background. I didn’t even recognize it. 🙂
    So glad to have seen you at the track meet. It really was a fun day.

  2. Pingback: The Spring Mountain Stake 2010 5K «

Leave a Reply

