4 Months and 4 Years

I had a doctor’s appointment for both Emma and Jacob this morning.  It’s very rare that I can get appointments back to back so it was really nice that we only had to make one trip.

I have been toying with the idea of Emma joining this Peer Program this fall but they require updated shot records.  I was pretty sure that I had missed her three year check-up so I made an appointment for her to get her shots updated.  Luckily, I was wrong and I had been on top of things (for once 🙂 )!  All of her shots were current and the doctor just went ahead and did her four year exam since she’s only a month or two away from her birthday.

I am so happy that she didn’t have to get shots, but I do have to say that I prepared her well enough that she really wasn’t too upset if she had to get them done.  Now we don’t have to come back until she’s 5 years old!!!

I am always AMAZED at her stats every time I get her weighed.  I guess I shouldn’t be that amazed if she’s still fitting into some of her 6-9 month pants.  She just wears them as capris instead of pants.  It really is quite cute and it helps us use her clothes a little longer than normal.  I’m really pleased that she has grown taller though.  I’m sure she’ll be at least my height if not a little taller, and that is a wonderful thing!

EMMA   LILLIAN

weight: 28 lbs. (5%)

height: 39 in. (48%)

Jacob wasn’t quite so cut and dry as Emma.  I decided (and I have been toying with the idea for quite a few weeks now) to stop nursing him.  I’m terribly sad about doing it but I figure it’s better for him.  I know, to a lot of you nursing mothers it doesn’t quite make sense because normally the best thing is to give a baby breast milk instead of formula.  Well, my baby just isn’t gaining the weight that he needs to thrive.  I know it sounds a little odd but a baby needs so much fat in their diet to keep up with their ever increasing development.  I’m just not providing whatever it is that he needs.  I feel selfish to keep pushing something that is hindering my son’s development more than helping it.  Hey, at least I did it for 4 months and enjoyed every moment of it!  He was a great nurser I just wish that I hadn’t failed him.

We did get the go ahead to start feeding him solid foods, starting with rice cereal and then branching out to the veggies.  He doesn’t want us to start him on juice or fruits just yet, probably not until his next appointment, so that he can see how well he’s growing.

Another interesting bit of information that I was able to get from the doctor was about Jacob’s head.  I don’t know if any of you have noticed that Jacob’s head is a lot narrower than the rest of my kids.  Lots of people are convinced that it’s just genetic, but neither Jared or I have narrow faces.  It’s more than that too.  I’ve always been a little nervous about it, afraid that it’s a sign of some sort of developmental problem.  Well, Dr. Chowdry assured me that it has nothing to do with what’s inside of his head.  He said that it’s quite common in preemies especially those before 37 weeks.  He said that at 37 weeks is when the fetus’ head begins to round out and not be so oblong like Jacob’s is now.  Since Jacob was born at 35 1/2 weeks the doctor said that it would just take time for it to correct itself as Jacob gets stronger and can hold his head more steady.  He said that it would  help for me to support his head so that when he’s on his back his head is looking directly in front of him.  I have to say that talking with the doctor about all of this really eased my mind and now I can enjoy my son without worrying!

JACOB   HYRUM

weight: 11 lbs. 6 oz. (2%)

height: 23 1/2 in. (5%)

head: 39 cm (2%)

4 months upclose

Here’s a comparison of little Jacob last month to this month:

3 months 4 month Mickey

5 Comments

Filed under Emma, Jacob

5 responses to “4 Months and 4 Years

  1. Oh Brianna, I imagine it’s so hard to feel like your baby is not getting enough food. My baby boy is tiny (only 10 pounds at his 2-month; 17 at his 1-year) and I was worried about my milk as well. Turns out he was just small. Either way, I sure hope you don’t feel like you have failed him if you can’t keep nursing. It’s okay! Formula is a viable option for infant nutrition, and giving Jacob what he needs is most definitely NOT failing him. It’s being a great mother.

  2. Brianna, it breaks my heart you would even use the word fail! You’ve not failed him by any stretch of the imagination, you’re working to make the best possible choices for him. You’re an amazing mom, please don’t be down on yourself.

    Bennett (of course) had the “preemie head” but now with his wild hair you would think he had a big, round head now. 🙂 It seemed to correct itself when he was lifting his head & more upright, then crawling, etc.

    Jacob’s eyes are gorgeous!

  3. Kara

    Our girls are exactly the same size and weight.

    Taylor only weighed 7 lbs when she was 3 months so we had to completely switch to formula. Our circumstances were different, but don’t feel down on yourself and feel like you are failing. You did great! Have you thought about pumping and mixing it in with formula so you don’t have to stop nursing completely?

  4. Oh, Kara already said it – Bennett was on a combination of nursing & bottles. They had me pump and mix the breastmilk with a preemie formula so it would be 30 calories. Breastmilk is usually about 20 calories and they said for preemies or kids with any serious health condition they often need the extra calories to help make up for what they are burning just playing catch up. That way I could still nurse him but alternate his super calorie bottles and it took awhile but he grew out of the preemie growth chart and onto the regular growth chart.

    He still eats like he’s playing catch up. 🙂

  5. Maggie

    You are SO NOT failing him. I only nursed Andrew for 4 months and he is about to be taller than me. Bottle or breast, he will be great!!! As for the head shape thing…I’ve only had one baby make it past 37 weeks. The nurses all call that “Toaster Head”. My sister has a toaster headed baby too. We just think it’s kind of funny. It’s not really that noticeable on the older kids now…..I just thought it was funny that the nurses in California and Arizona both call it toaster head…must be some clinical diagnosis 😉

Leave a Reply

