8 Years and Counting

Today was our 8 year Anniversary.  To celebrate we went out to ice cream with the kids.  It was a really nice day.  I looked through our wedding album with the kids.  It was so much fun telling them stories about their daddy and I.

I love how my love for this man had grown exponentially since the day we proclaimed our love to one another.  I thought I loved him so much back then, but then with each child my love has grown.  I would have thought that a person would explode from feeling these types of emotions.

engagementHere’s a little recap of our life together.  We first met when I was 15 years old.  Jared had just come home from his mission to Fortaleza, Brazil.  We were asked to do a musical number for his brothers’ Eagle Courts of Honor (Jared played the piano while I sang).  We had our first official date on June 15, 2000.  I say official because we had been on a date before, it just wasn’t together.  We each had different dates 🙂 .

So, we had a long distance relationship for four months before Jared proposed.  The first ring that he gave me (because it wasn’t a planned proposal) was my great grandmother’s wedding ring.  It was a wonderful gesture especially since she passed away just a few months later.

Wedding01

We were married on June 15, 2001 (one year after our first date) in the LasVegas, Nevada Temple.  The day was gorgeous!  It wasn’t until much later in the day that the heat caught up with us.

 It was so wonderful to walk around the temple grounds for a few hours after our ceremony.  It’s funny how all the days leading up to your wedding are so chaotic and stressful but the minute you are married it sees like nothing else matters.  If the wedding cake is delivered unassembled, or the wedding planner doesn’t decorate the way that you had asked— it all just takes a back seat.

wedding07

After we were married Jared was accepted to Pepperdine Law School in beautiful Malibu, CA.  While we were there he got a job with a firm in London, England.  We moved there for 5 months where we had the time of our lives living in a little flat that barely had enough room for one person let alone two.

We got pregnant with our first child shortly after moving back home.  Jared finished his last final on December 15th, 2003 (my due date) and then we welcomed Benjamin Jared into the world on December 20th. 

Two days after I had Benjamin, Jared picked me up from the hospital in a U-haul and drove us to our new home in Vegas.  18 months later Emma wedding03Lillian joined our little crew.  Benjamin grew up so much that month.  He became  the perfect big brother.

Just 6 weeks after we had Emma we moved across the country to Lancaster, Pennsylvania.  We lived in a beautiful little red brick home that was 100 years old.  We had a skunk that lived under our front porch, an albino groundhog that lived under our shed in the backyard, we had squirrels in our oak tree out back, deer that would come and graze in our yard, and little baby bunnies that would hop in our grass come spring.  We felt like it was the perfect place to raise our family.

Emma was 4 months old when we unexpectedly found out we were pregnant for a third time.  We welcomed little Joseph into our family on October wedding045th, 2006.  Joseph was 8 days old when Jared’s boss fired him in an email.  With three little ones in the house, no job and winter just around the corner it became paramount for him to find a job.  The answer came in a form that we were not expecting.

Jared received an offer from a firm out in Vegas where he was required to start three days from the time he  accepted the job.  So in those three days, I packed Jared and Emma for a move to Las Vegas where my mother would watch her while Jared worked.  I stayed back with the two boys to work on the house and get it ready to put on the market.

After 9 weeks of being separated, my dad flew out to help me drive the boys back west.  Jared’s dear sweet parents let us live with them for as long as  we needed, which turned out to be close to 18 months.  It took us close to a year to sell our house back east, but when it did we did not waist any time in looking for a place to call home againwedding05.

We found a beautiful fixer-upper in our pricerange and with all the room we could ever want.  Just weeks after we moved in we found out that I was three months pregnant.  Our little baby Jacob was born December 30, 2008, just before the new year.

6 moves, 6 pregnancies, 4 children, 2 houses, and several tears later (both happy and sad), we are still going strong!

Thank you, Jared, for such an amazing journey!  Thank you for putting up with me and my crazy.  Thank you for always listening and supporting.

You are “the choice of my heart”

wedding06

Jared says:  The day itself was very much a blur.  Other than the fact that it was the happiest day of my life I don’t remember a whole lot.  I remember the way I felt more than anything.  It felt like on that day my life truly began!  I realized that I really hadn’t fully LIVED until I became married to Brianna.  It seems like a completely different life or person’s life when I recall my bachelor days.

4 Comments

Filed under Brianna, Jared

4 responses to “8 Years and Counting

  1. Happy anniversary! 🙂 We just celebrated our 8th too. Here’s to another few handful’s of 8 years (if that makes any sense).

  2. Wow, loved this post. I didn’t know the whole story and I’m so glad you posted it. Happy Anniversary!

  3. Danielle

    Brianna that is amazing, it brought tears to my eyes reading about your love story. You are an amazing women and I admire your strength through all you highs and lows. Happy Anniversary!!

  4. Hi Brianna I found your blog through other’s in our ward. I loved reading about your married life so far. You have had quite the crazy last 8 years. I don’t think I would be sane if that was me. My blog address is http://www.davidandstacigertsch.blogspot.com if you want to keep up with my family! Talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

