“Boo Hoo” Breakfast

CSC_0228So, as I mentioned in the last post, our family had extra time this morning because we didn’t eat breakfast at home.  The school sent out a notice at the Meet and Greet that the school would host a little breakfast for the kindergarteners and their families.  At least that’s what I thought it meant!

We waved good-bye to Benjamin as he walked off to his classroom and I told him that I’d see him in a few minutes at the “Boo Hoo” breakfast.  As we and several other families made our way to the cafeteria one of the other mothers clued me in to the fact that the kids wouldn’t be joining us.  I don’t know why I thought that they would, but I felt like the worst mother in the world.  It’s my son’s first day of school and I send him off with an empty stomach.

CSC_0231

Obviously Joseph felt the same way 🙂 !  He was having a hard morning.  He couldn’t seem to understand that Benjamin wasn’t able to play right now.  That’s something that Emma and Joseph are going to have to get used to.  Benjamin’s usually my go-to-man.  I’m going to have to start delegating out his little jobs to the other kids.

I’ll have to remember to bring a granola bar and a water bottle to the bus stop so that Benjamin can get a head start on his lunch.

At the breakfast (that Jared and the kids enjoyed, I lost my appetite) they handed out this cute little package of tissues with a poem attached.  As I read it I started crying.  It’s just so perfect for any mother that has ever sent their child off somewhere without them.

DSC_0229

I wonder what you’re doing right now,
And if everyone is treating you kind.
I hope there is a special person,
A nice friend that you can find.

I wonder if the teacher knows
Just how special you are to me.
And if the brightness of your heart
Is something she can see.

I wonder if you are thinking about me,
And if you need a hug.
I already miss the sound of your voice
And how you give my leg a tug.

I wonder if you could possibly understand
How hard it is for me to let you grow.
On this day know that my heart breaks,
For this is the first step in letting my baby go.

1 Comment

Filed under Benjamin, Brianna, Kids, Kindergarten, School

One response to ““Boo Hoo” Breakfast

  1. G W Gibson

    Cute poem – hope things worked out well :).

Leave a Reply

