Let the birthday celebrations begin!

Well, today that would be a whopping 32 years old for Jared!

I’ve been getting the kids wound up for this day for about a week now.  It was so much fun to have breakfast together, sing “Happy Birthday”, open presents, each cupcakes.  Everything was pretty much perfect!  Well, as far as Jared is concerned- it was perfect!

Jared was less than thrilled when I made him sit down in the family room so that he could open his presents.  I don’t know WHY he thought he could get away without having presents on his birthday.  That was one thing I was happy to disappoint him with 🙂 !

It was nothing real major – new dress shirt, belt, tie, undershirts, mangos and a mango splitter (amazing tool that I found at Target, yipee).  One present for each of us to give him!  I love it (and hate it a little) when the kids “help” open the presents.  There are so many of them and they are all so eager to help that, more often than not, the person receiving the present doesn’t get to see the present when it’s open.  That bugs me a little but it sure it fun to watch the kids get so excited over something that has nothing to do with them.

After all the presents were opened, I had the kids blindfold daddy and walk him over to the front door.  We opened it and he found a 6 foot x 2 foot frame for a Book of Mormon timeline I had bought him last year for his birthday (and never got around to framing 😦 ).

I think he was pretty surprised because I made it myself from start to finish.  I managed to stain the wood without him knowing, borrowed my dad’s miter saw to cut the angels, and nailed and glued the little sucker to death so that it would stay together.  I think it turned out great, but then again it is my first attempt at staining wood and creating anything from wood!

After all the excitement of his presents died down, we put some candles in some leftover cupcakes from the other night and sang to him all over again!

The kids LOVED that they each got to blow out a candle for their daddy’s birthday and I think I kind of like that idea too!  I know how old I am and I don’t need a million candles to reminde me, thank you very much!

Leave a comment

Filed under Brianna, Jared, Kids

Leave a Reply

