1… 2… 3… Cook-off!

Tonight was our annual Ward Dutch Oven Cook-off!  Last year we were unable to make it so we made it a priority this year.  It has been years since I’ve had dutch oven cooking.  When I was young, my dad was the scout master for our area.  I remember he had that calling for, what seemed like, 10 years!  He was really good at all that kind of stuff, especially when it came down to the camping and the cooking while camping.  He would experiment on us as a family out in the backyard and it was always SOOOOO GOOOOOD!!!

It was really nice to be with our ward family for the evening.  It was even more special because we got to spend time on the playground and swings.  It didn’t occur to me until tonight that Jacob had never been on the swings.  I don’t know how I let that one slip through the cracks.  HE HAD SUCH A BLAST!!!  (Just like almost every other child does when they go on the swings for the first time).  It was a wonderful experience to share with Emma, who helped push him from the other side.

(side note):  I have to admit, sometimes I feel like I’m in a fairy tale or just playing make-believe.  Does it ever feel that way sometimes?  Sometimes life just seems too perfect that it has to be a dream of some sort and you have to make the most of it and soak up as much as you can before you wake.  I’m actually glad I feel that way because it helps me to “stop and smell the roses”, if you will! 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Church Stuff, Elder Combs, Family, Friends, Jacob

Leave a Reply

