Applesauce Muffins

So, tonight me and the kids made these AMAZING applesauce muffins!  I say that they are amazing because they not only have applesauce in them, but they also have carrot puree!

I was at Kohl’s the other day and while I was in the check-out line I ran across this recipe book by Jessica Seinfeld called Deceptively Delicious!  It was on sale for $5 as opposed to the $15 it went for when it first came out, over a year ago.  I couldn’t justify spending 15 bucks on another cookbook, at the time, but I couldn’t resist the price ($5) so I grabbed it.

It has become a fun little hobby of mine to experiment with different types of cooking to see if I can get my kids to eat all kinds of different foods.

Anywho… the idea behind the cookbook is to incorporate more fruits and veggies into the kids’ diet without them knowing about it therefore decreasing the amount of whining!

I trired these muffins straight off because it was the one recipe that I had all the ingredients for (sort of) and I didn’t want to go grocery shopping.  Turned out that as I was making it I couldn’t find my 10 pound bag of flour that I had bought just a month ago, so we had to improvise and use whole wheat flour which ended up being better than I could have ever imagined.

Another wonderful thing that I was able to experiment with was this new product, Brown Sugar Splenda.  You only use half of the amount that the recipe calls for and, just like Splenda, you’re not adding sugar to your diet.

So, I’ll give you the recipe so that you can try it at home because it’s definitely worth the try:

TOPPING:

2/3 cup old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar (or 2 Tbs. Splenda Brown Sugar)
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 Tbs. melted butter

BATTER:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (or 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour)
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup nonfat milk
1/2 cup carrot puree
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar (or 1/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar)
1/4 cup oil
1 large egg

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray 12 muffin cups with cooking spray. Stir together toppings, and separately stir together batter.  Divide batter among muffin cups and sprinkle with topping.  Bake 18-20 minutes.  Serve warm or cold.

2 Comments

Filed under Brianna, Brianna's Reading List, Craft Projects, Kids, recipes

2 responses to “Applesauce Muffins

  1. Happy Home Fairy

    Hello! I just wanted to tell you that I stumbled upon your blog while doing a search about Boohoo Breakfasts! Found your sweet entry from a year ago that included a poem with tissues. Loved it! I was wondering if you would allow me to share the poem and picture you included on my WordPress blog – http://www.glittermagic.wordpress.com. I am the Happy Home Fairy and I post about magical ideas and traditions for families to enjoy together. What do you think??? God Bless You! P.S. You are clearly an incredible Mommy!

Leave a Reply

