Our Little Monkey’s 2nd Birthday

 Today, Jacob is turning 2!  It’s hard to believe that our home has been blessed to have him in it for the last 24 months.  I have enjoyed every minute with this child and his amazing attitude and spirit, and if any of my kids are reading this years later just know that I loved you all like this when you were this age so don’t get all offended 😉 .

I spent the last couple of days taking down Christmas decorations (I know, kinda early) but we have people coming to stay with us from Brazil, where Jared served his mission.  They want to experience a Las Vegas New Year and I need the space that my tree is currently occupying.

It seems like as soon as all the Christmas stuff was put away, and I had swept up all the dried pine needles, that I was pulling out my scrapbook supplies to make decorations for Jacob’s party.  I came up with the monkey theme because that seems to be what he’s like these days.  Therapy is encouraging his independence and mobility at a rate that my other children approached at a more leisurely pace.  So with the mobility comes the exploring, the stacking of large objects, and the climbing upon said objects go places that no two-year old should be allowed to go 🙂 .

I wanted to make some cute party hats to carry on the monkey theme and that became a problem.  I could not find a pattern or any explanation of how to make one of these anywhere.  I finally came up with the brilliant idea of using the generic party hats that I had, taking them apart, using them as a template, and making my own.  They were a cinch to do, once I figured out the pattern.  I found some really cute and inexpensive 12×12 scrap paper at Michael’s and then went to work.  All in all, it took me no more than an hour to make 12 party hats and one nicer looking hat for the birthday boy!  For Jacob’s special little hat I just bought coordinating paper and a package of pom-poms for 99 cents at Michael’s.  I would have loved to have had more time to do a better “2” or to have at least printed it off, but in the end I ran out of time and knew it would be destroyed by the end of the night.

Okay, so the most important thing that needed to be made was the cupcakes.  Since we had a monkey theme I decided to have banana splits instead of just plain ice cream.  I also made some monkey cupcakes, and they turned out awesome!  Trissa came over last night to help me frost and put the faces together.  It was nice to spend some time with her and she learned how to do something cute.  Not sure when or if she’ll ever use it again, but she learned it all the same!

So, with a box of Nilla Wafers in hand, I cut off one of the edges to make the mouth pieces and then pipped some black frosting for the nostrils and the mouth.  I stuck two mini wafers in the sides to create the big ears and pipped two black dots for eyes.  They were amazingly cute, but tasted divine!  That’s always a plus, to have it look AND taste good!!!

Since no one in either of our families would be attending the actual party, we took the liberty of inviting some very close family friends to join us in celebrating Jacob’s big day.

It came time to sing “Happy Birthday” and have Jacob blow out his candle, but that kid did not want to wait until the end of the song.  I had to relight the candle THREE times before he got to blow it out to where it stayed out.  It was interesting that Jacob knew what to do when the candle was lit.  It’s not like it’s something you practice before hand, and he certainly had no idea what to do with it at his last birthday.  When the song was finally over, Jacob sat there for a second or two I’m guessing because he wasn’t sure if he was allowed to blow it out that time or not 🙂 .

 
 
 

When we finally let him blow the candle out he sat and watched me for a couple of seconds and then dived in, head first!  I think it’s hilarious how he eats his cupcakes.  He did the same thing for Benjamin’s birthday.  I’m guessing it’s because he doesn’t want to get his hands dirty, but when the cupcake was gone I could see that was clearly not the case, seeing as how he was covered in chocolate cake!  Whatever the reason, it makes for great memories.

  

I think cupcakes are my new favorite way of preparing birthday cakes.  They’re just so easy to make and easy to pass out, and they’re the perfect portion size.  They’re just easy all around!  Look at all the kids enjoying their cupcakes in their own little way…

 
 

BUSTED!!!

He did not want to wait for me to clean him up.  He could see the presents, and since we had that great tutorial on how to open presents just a few days ago (some people like to call that Christmas 🙂 ) we was rearing to go!  I guess it makes sense that he would take the easiest route to the presents, and since he was already sitting at the table and not buckled in (great going, mommy) he just climbed right on top.  I swear, sometimes kids are way smarter than we give them credit for.

  

He got a grand total of two presents, which I don’t mind in the least.  I had told all our friends who were attending NOT to bring him anything, but some people just don’t know how to listen 😉 .  So, the sweet Nelson’s gave him a really cute track suit and we gave him a sock monkey!  I just have to say, for the record, that I adore sock monkeys!  They are so retro while at the same time so classic and they were the real inspiration for throwing a monkey party to begin with.  I had been looking for a sock monkey for a couple of weeks (saw them all the time during after Thanksgiving sales) but didn’t find one that I fell in love with until this afternoon, at Sam’s Club!  It was actually a package of two sock monkeys (one boy and one girl) for a little over $5.  I really just wanted the little boy one but what are you  going to do, and for $5!  So, when Jacob peeled back the tissue paper to where he could see what was inside I knew I had picked the right one!  I “ooo-ed” and “aaah-ed” and pointed and hugged; all the things that told me he was in love with it!  He carried it around, under his arm, the rest of the night.

Michael and Amy made it back to the house before all the festivities had ended, but they got to sit and snuggle with Jacob for a little before he snuck off to play his favorite game with Shelby.

Maybe you can remember, maybe you can’t, but Jacob loves our curio cabinet that Grandpa Johnson made for us about 8 years ago.  It’s a beautiful piece of furniture, but when we moved it cross-country and finally set it up in this house we had somehow lost all of the glass shelves.  And ever since Jacob could walk that piece of furniture has become his favorite toy.  He loves to go in and out of it, just sit and chill, and turn the light on and off.  That’s why it was so hilarious and so classic for him to take his little friend and show her how it worked.  If I had been smart I would have caught it on video, but then you know how kids are… the minute they sense that you’re watching them they stop what ever it is that they were doing.  I did get a couple still shots to give you an idea of what he was doing. but as you look at them you have to imagine the peals of laughter that was coming out of these two little characters.  So precious!

  

Such a great party and such a great way to celebrate our munchkin’s big day!  Happy birthday, sweetheart!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Brianna, Craft Projects, Family, Friends, Jacob, Kids, Michael and Amy

Leave a Reply

