The Cleaning Bug

I don’t know if it’s because it’s the beginning of the new year, or if I’m nesting (except my tubes are tied so it can’t be that), whatever the reason, I have this compulsive urge to clean everything in sight.  Much like when I go out to eat, my eyes are too big for my stomach!  I see everything that needs to be done and am suddenly overwhelmed and discouraged because I didn’t check one thing off my to-do list.  If this sounds like you, you’ll want to read the rest of this post.

I found this great website called FlyLady.  It’s amazing if you want to really clean your house, but without all the stress!

They go month by month, and even week by week, to map out your home into different zones that you focus on at different times.  They usually give you a job to do in 15 minute increments (encouraging you to set a timer so that you don’t get overwhelmed) and you just work at it a little each day.  Before you know it, that zone is sparkling clean and decluttered!

Since I had already done todays Zone 4: Master Bedroom cleaning of under the bed I decided to go back to last weeks Zone 3 and work a little more on the front porch.  I was able to track down the paint number for my front door (restrictive HOAs), order the paint, weed, clean and fill the fountain, and spray down the walls and furniture (since it’s 68 degrees outside 🙂 ).  As soon as the paint is ready I’ll take an afternoon while the kids are napping to do that!  I can’t wait to have a clean and freshly painted door, free of scratch marks from trying to fit a 14 and 11 foot Christmas tree through its narrow allowance.

Go here if you want to browse the website or if you already have a good idea of what you want to accomplish here are a few good links to get you on the right track.

Happy searching!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Brianna, House

4 responses to “The Cleaning Bug

  1. Linsie Limb Draper

    You have inspired me, I started a blog! It’s http://www.thedrapes.blogspot.com.

  2. Jade

    I LOVE FlyLady, but the emails are annoying! Overwhelmed? Go shine your sink!

  3. Shannon Scow Dayton

    The same bug hit me today! I just got on the computer after scrubbing down the bathrooms with clorox. 🙂

  4. Angela

    I LOVE the flylady!!!!! I have been a follower for years!!!! I have to say I really like the shined sink everymorning!!!

Leave a Reply

