Comfort

Today has been all about comfort.  I found out that it isn’t some weird cold that I’ve caught from my kids, its allergies!  Curses to Las Vegas for being such a warm state and having their spring in January!!!  I guess my attempts to clean house so early kind of backfired.  All the gardening and weeding that I had done earlier this week caught up to me.  Luckily, this has given me a good excuse to just relax and slow things down.

I’m dressed in my leggings, an oversized shirt, and a grey sweater.  I got to eat bunches and bunches of tomato soup, and I got to read two of my all-time favorite books: Twilight and Midnight Sun (side by side, something I’ve wanted to do for a long time).  I have to say that it brings a whole new level to the books, doing it this way.  If you get the time or the inclination to do it, I highly recommend that you do.

I do have to say, this week was supposed to be one of the busiest weeks I’ve had in several months.  There was something to do every night.  Jared would be gone most nights this week, which left me with the option to rearrange my schedule, have the kids come with me, or get a babysitter for five nights this week.  When things like this happen I try not to look too far in advance.  Just one day at a time, otherwise you do tend to get overwhelmed and freak out.

I was scheduled to attend a Primary training meeting tonight and then right after I was supposed to go to a bridal shower for a young lady that I used to babysit.  Actually, Jared and I had our wedding reception in her parents’ backyard!  I had all that stuff to do, until I got a call from my sister-in-law, Megan.  She has gone into labor and I am on-call to take little Julia until the baby arrives.  So, as you can imagine, everything that was planned went out the window the minute she said she needed me.  I had already given my Primary presidency a heads up that I might not be there so all I had to do was call and cancel the bridal shower.  It’s amazing how when your priorities are in check, everything else seems to fit into place.  It wasn’t the end of the world that I didn’t attend these other functions, everything went on without me (even though I would have loved to have been there), but I know that this is where I need to be.

I’m so excited to be apart of this special time in their lives.  I love being an aunt, and I love spoiling my little nieces and nephews.  I only wish that I were closer to so many of them.  It just means I have to make the most of whatever time I have with them when they’re around.]

I just hope everything goes well for Mike and Megan tonight.  I know Julia and I are going to have a great time 🙂 !

Leave a comment

Filed under Brianna, Johnson Cousins, pregnancy

Leave a Reply

