Conversation Hearts

At about 11:30 pm Saturday night I got this great idea for Primary singing time.  It was our ward conference so all the stake leaders would be in attendance and I didn’t want to disappoint them (or the kids).  Both junior and senior primaries have memorized the song for this month “If I Listen with my Heart” and I knew that it would be more difficult to keep the senior kids’ attention for one more week.  I made them prove to me that they knew the song and if they did it well enough we moved onto this Valentine’s game that I had prepared.

So, of course, I sent Jared to the store to pick up a bag of conversation hearts so that I could use them in Primary.  The point of the game was to draw a heart, read what it said, and then match it up to a song in the Primary song book.  I came up with a huge list of songs and sayings and had them all ready the night before.  But of course, minutes before it’s my turn to do the music I realise that some of the sayings on the hearts don’t match.  So me and the pianist are frantically going through each heart and pulling out the ones that don’t work and trying to think of songs to use for some of the other ones.  It was a mess, but it was a good idea (in theory).  Maybe you’ll have better luck with the list 🙂 !

SMILE  267 Smiles
BE TRUE  159 Stand for the Right
CALL ME  197  Quickly I’ll Obey
COOL  245  Oh What Do You Do in the Summertime?
I DO  207  Mother I Love You
I WILL  164 I Will Follow God’s Plan
LOVE  74  I Feel My Saviors Love
LOVE YOU 136 Love One Another
HE LOVES ME  211 My Dad
KISS  210 Daddy’s Homecoming
I’M GLAD  228 My Heavenly Father Loves Me
HOORAY!  201 When Grandpa Comes
HUG ME 200 Grandmother
LOVE HER  198 When We’re Helping
SPECIAL  196 Saturday
HAVING FUN 194 The Family
4 EVER 188 Families Can Be Together Forever
SHH!  156 The Chapel Doors
#1  134  Latter Day Prophets
THE BEST  103 When I Am Baptized
WIN  Scripture Power
I’LL FOLLOW  77 The Church of Jesus Christ
PLEASE  60 Jesus Wants Me For A Sunbeam
LOVES ME  5 I Know My Father Lives
THANKS  20 Thanks To Our Father
I LOVE YOU  208 The Dearest Names
TEACH ME  177 Teach Me To Walk In The Light
URA STAR 163 I Am Like A Star
UR KIND 145 Kindness Begins With Me
YOU ROCK  281 The Wise Man and the Foolish Man
ILU 206 Mother Dear
DIG ME  237 The Prophet Said to Plant A Garden
EVER AFTER  188 Families Can Be Together Forever
HEART OF GOLD  86 The Golden Plates

3 Comments

Filed under Brianna, Church Stuff, Holidays

3 responses to “Conversation Hearts

  1. Karen Dawes Curtis

    Brianna…I must say…YOU ARE BRILLIANT! Love this idea!

Leave a Reply

