Valentine Inspirations

I’m sure there are a million ideas out there on the world-wide-web of different crafts and things that you can do to get ready for Valentine’s Day. I’m going to share just a couple of the things that have worked the best for me in the past.

SWEET JEWELRY

These can be as expensive or inexpensive as you want to get. All it takes is some type of wrapped Valentine candy attached to a little hair scrunchie with some hot glue. I think the original idea was to use pipe cleaner but we found that these little hair ties were easy to slip on the fingers and easy to take off.

DOILY NOTES

Do NOT underestimate the dollar store! The kids love using up craft supplies (must make them feel big and important) but I don’t have that kind of money. You can get little white doilies and foam stickers at the dollar store and you can let them go wild. The kids loved making these cards for their Primary teachers.

FOR “CRAYON” OUT LOUD

This was one of my more ingenious ideas!!! And frugal too. I found these great ice-cube trays in the dollar bins at Target last year. I saw them again this year, so go grab yourself some before they’re all gone. I’m using my molds again this year for a different project that I’ll show you another time, but they were definitely worth the $1.00.

I used the broken pieces of crayon from our crayon tub and put them into the molds. I heated them in a 200 degree oven for about 10 minutes. Let them cool for at least 20 minutes and then, because the molds are made of silicone, you can just pop the crayon out of the mold.

I hot glued the crayon onto the middle of a paper circle that said “Won’t you be my Valentine for “CRAYON” out loud!”

PEEK – A – BOO

This was my first attempt at cute Valentines for my children. As you can see, I set the bar high because my son was 14 months at the time. I had used some construction paper at the time (this was before I attempted to be crafty) and folded it in half, cut out the shape of a heart while leaving a flat edge that would attach both sides of the heart. I mounted his picture on the inside and then mark where the eyes were and punched out holes so that he could “peek” through the front.

My grandparents loved this one!

As if that weren’t enough, I do have a tutorial on how to make a cupcake liner wreath. Again, I’m sure there are plenty of options out there for you to choose from, but these are the things that worked for me while still keeping on top of my house and my four kids. I will say that I wished I had put more liners on there, just to make it look a bit fuller, so be liberal with your liners 🙂 !

CUPCAKE LINER WREATH

Leave a comment

Filed under Craft Projects, Holidays

Leave a Reply

