Valentine’s Cupcakes

I stayed up late tonight to make over 50 cupcakes for all the kids’ classes.  There’s preschool, kindergarten, and first grade now instead of just the one kindergarten class that I had last year.  It’s crazy how things can multiply so quickly when you’re not watching.

They turned out absolutely adorable, but they were even that much more tasty!  To be completely honest… I CHEATED!!!  I used a couple boxes of strawberry cake mix and just prepared the batter according to the box.  I guess if I didn’t have as many to do or if I hadn’t procrastinated this I could have done something better, but the boxes were on sale for $0.77 each and I just couldn’t pass that up.  There was also a great sale for all the Wilton candy melts at Michael’s so I grabbed a couple of bags of their red chocolate.  I brought those home and melted it according to the directions and then pipped them into the heart ice-cube trays that I bought last year for Benjamin’s “Crayon out loud” valentines.  I left them in the fridge while the cupcakes baked.

While the cupcakes were cooling, I put a tub of frosting into my handy-dandy KitchenAid and whipped the heck out of it.  I added a bit of milk to thin it out and make it a bit fluffier and not quite so heavy.  I spooned that into a gallon size Ziploc bag and then pipped it onto the cupcakes.  When they were all frosted, I placed a red chocolate heart on top.

I have a feeling that the kids are going to flip over these in the morning!!!  Now the only problem is how do I transport them to their classrooms?

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Emma, Holidays, Joseph, School

Leave a Reply

