Benjamin’s Rocket

So, of course, Benjamin saw how great Emma’s valentine box turned out so he wanted one himself.  I wanted to do something a little more boyish, but the only thing I could think of was a rocket.

I remember, back when I was in grade school, my dad and I made this amazing rocket out of an oatmeal canister and construction paper.  I loved that thing!  It’s probably one of my strongest memories about Valentine’s Day (isn’t that weird).  It was pink and red and had hearts trailing out the bottom to look like it was being shot off.  Obviously that’s a bit too girly, but he was all for a rocket ship!

He told me what colors he wanted it, which paper to use where, how tall it should be and he added the wings for good measure 🙂 .  The cone for the top was the hardest part of the whole project.  We ended up taping together four square sheets of cardstock and then cutting them each on the bias.  Then we overlapped each square to make a triangle and glued them together.  From there all I had to do was trim the bottom so that it was even but it formed a nice cone.  I added the slit later so that all his little friends had to do was slip their valentine through the slot and it would fall to the bottom.

1 Comment

Filed under Benjamin, Craft Projects, Holidays, School

One response to “Benjamin’s Rocket

Leave a Reply

