Grandma’s House

Grandma and Grandpa had us staying in the basement and I can not tell you how great that was.  The kids slept in until 9:30 this morning!!!  It was wonderful.

The first thing the kids wanted to do was go out and play in the snow!  We came prepared for cold weather but even then, our idea of cold weather is a little different.  We didn’t have gloves, hats, scarves, or boots.  But that didn’t stop the kids from playing with and eating the snow!

  
  

I love coming to Grandma’s house!  I love the fact that most of the things that were there when I was a small child are still there.  Even some of the old books that I would read as a child are still tucked away in one of her drawers.  It was so fun to watch my kids (especially Jacob) play around the house.  Jacob found “the secret hideout” that belong to me and my cousins.  He loved playing peek-a-boo and crawling through all the legs of their beautiful dining room table.  When I saw him doing that it brought back so many memories of me and my cousins playing under there when we were younger (I’m not sure how young).  There are two massive legs and we used to sit on them and fiddle with the carvings like they were buttons and levers controlling the bat-cave!  Silly, I know, but that’s what you do when you’re a kid at Grandma’s house.

 

There are so many things that I love about Grandma’s house.  Up until recently, one of my favorite things was this pink bathroom that they had.  The walls were pink, the sink was pink, the toilet might have even been pink, and then the bathtub was this teal color.  It was so pretty!  It was probably only pretty to me because I was a little girl who happened to be in love with that color, but something about needing to replace pipes and tile made them renovate it and turn it into a more modern bathroom which I still love but I just remember the old one so well.

Another great (and possibly bad thing) about Grandma’s house is the food!  My Grandma (as I’m sure is the case for you) is a wonderful cook!  I think it’s a prerequisite to receiving the title of Grandma.  Whenever we come there is food everywhere.  Good food, bad food, homemade food, all of it is there an at your fingertips but it can be so very hard when you’re watching what you’re eating 🙂 .  I feel like such a kid whenever I’m in the kitchen, with her asking what I want to eat or giving me a list of options while I sit/ stand and talk with her about anything and everything 🙂 .  I love that time that I get with her where, even though life is still going on all around us, it makes me feel so special and singular because she’s talking with me.

Grandma’s house is the BEST!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Brianna, Family, Kids, The Great Combs'

5 responses to “Grandma’s House

  1. Joan Combs

    Thanks Bri Bee… I loved having you alll here.. the pink bathroom had the pink walls but the toilet, tub and sink were all a light green.. I’m thrilled to have them gone.. I did love the wall paper, it was a swirl of golds, whites and pinks.. So much for the good old days!!! It was fun to have someone to fix food for.. I have a hard time cooking for just G’pa and me.. We love you guys.. The kids were absolutely the best!! G’pa is still bragging!!!

    • It’s funny what you remember or what you create in your head when you’re a little kid. I know what you mean about having a hard time just cooking for two. I don’t know what we’ll do when all these little monsters are out of the house. We had an absolute blast, and thanks again for letting us come and invade!

  2. Linsie Limb Draper

    So true! Love the bat cave! We do have the best Grandma!

  3. Dan

    Bri,
    Seeing your kids with Michael and Amy, took me back to when Clydia and I were Dating/Engaged and you and your bothers, were the little ankle biters that were running around. I remember those times fondly, at of course, “Grandma’s house!” Don’t tell my boys but, I am looking forward to being the grandma and grandpa. Clydia will be such a good grandma just like her mom! It was great to see all of your family, and I wish we were all a little closer, and could get together more often. Sorry we missed you Sunday, I just felt that we had to go visit my mom. I hope you’ll forgive us. Love you! Dan

    • You’re so right! Clydia will be AMAZING!!! It was great to see you for a few hours. Sorry our trip and the restriction of kids didn’t allow for more time to hang out. I hope your mom feels better. That’s such a hard thing to bear. I’m glad you were able to spend some time with her. We’ll see you soon enough! Be sure to come and visit us for a little when you’re in town!

Leave a Reply

