Shocking!

In our family scripture  study tonight we finished 1 Nephi chapter 17.  In verse 53 it says:

And it came to pass that the Lord said unto me: Stretch forth thine hand again unto thy brethren, and they shall not wither before thee, but I will ashock them, saith the Lord, and this will I do, that they may know that I am the Lord their God.

When were done reading I started to explain to them (in layman’s terms) what was going on.  As I sat there describing to them what kind of shock Nephi gave his brothers, it occurred to me that I could just as easily show them.  I ran upstairs to my daughter’s room, grabbed one of her walkie talkies, took out the 9 volt battery, and ran back down the stairs.

You can probably tell where I’m going with this but if you can’t guess then let me enlighten you.  If you stick your tongue on both sections of a 9 volt battery you get a small, very insignificant electric shock.  It sounds a lot worse than it is but I did want to give the kids something to be able to draw from when they read this story again.

I had each child come up and stick their tongue on it and then they each described what it felt like.  Jared and I then explained that the shock that Laman and Lemuel were given was so much stronger than this but they should now have a better idea of what a shock is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church Stuff, Kids

Leave a Reply

