Spinach Mac and Cheese

  • 3 Tbl. unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup minced yellow onion
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 4 cups whole milk, room temperature
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 bunches spinach, trimmed, washed, cut into strips
  • 5 ounces Gruyere cheese, grated (2 cups)
  • 3/4 pound elbow macaroni, cooked

My family, mostly my husband, love all things cheese related.  I’m tired of breaking open a box of Kraft mac and cheese.  I’ve been trying to elevate our meal-times a bit and introduce a few more vegetables.  I figure if I can get them to love and remember that they love these foods with these very prominent veggies that they will continue to love them later on.  It’s a theory that we’ll have to wait several years to see the results.

So I made a few changes to the recipe.  Some were for convenience while others were for price.  I just used whatever milk I had in the fridge.  I’m sure it would have been a little bit creamier if I had used whole milk but it was plenty creamy enough with just the 1% I used.  I substituted Jarlsberg for the Gruyere cheese.  If anything, I think it enhanced the flavor of the spinach! 

You know you’ve made something wonderful when your 7-year-old son asks if he can take the leftovers to school the next day for lunch 🙂 !  Enjoy!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

