Homemade Mayonnaise

For the past several months I have been making my own mayonnaise.  Some of you may think that’s weird, but when you’ve got a family like mine that eats sandwiches all the time and you use mayonnaise in preparing your meals, it can get a little pricy.  I also really like the fact that I know what’s in the food that my kids are eating.

So this afternoon, I went to make the kids tuna sandwiches and realised that I was out of mayo.  I had to pick Emma up from the bus in 15 minutes so not enough time to run to the store and back.  So, I whipped up some mayo in my blender.  I tripled the recipe below and that will probably last me about two weeks.

The great thing about this recipe is that because of how basic it is you can jazz it up real easily.  You can add 2 minced garlic cloves in step two and have garlic mayo.  By simply adding 1 jar of roasted red pepper (patted dry) and 2 minced garlic cloves to step two you could have a unique red-pepper mayonnaiseCaesar mayo can be achieved by adding 2 minced anchovy fillets and 1/4 cup grated parmesan to step two as well.  After step 3 you can stir in 1/4 finely chopped fresh herbs like parsley, tarragon, or chives to get a fresh herbed mayo.  The possibilities are endless!!!

Recipe for Basic Mayonnaise (makes 1 1/2 cups):

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp. mustard (of your choosing)
  • 4 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

1) In a food processor (I use my blender), place 2 large egg yolks.  2) Add mustard and lemon juice.  Pulse ingredients until well combined.

3) With motor running, add oil in a slow, steady stream.  The mixture should become thick and emulsified.  Season with salt and pepper.  4) Store in an airtight container in the fridge, about 2 weeks.

It takes about as much time to make it as it does to walk down the right aisle at the supermarket, put it in your basket, and take it home.  Try it once and you might find that you really like it!

***Quick note:  Just tried making the mayo but skipped adding lemon juice and it didn’t thicken.  Lemon is a KEY ingredient in making mayonnaise!

Leave a comment

Filed under recipes

Leave a Reply

