For Auction

The young women had their annual Spaghetti Dinner and Auction tonight.  I had made a bundt cake earlier this afternoon and frosted it about 20 minutes before we needed to leave.  It was so much fun to put the flower in the middle, set it on the plate, and watch the kids’ eyes light up!  It was even more fun to have Jared come home from work, see the cake sitting on the counter and say, “But I thought you were going to bake a cake?”  You know you’ve done a good job when your hubby thinks your cake is store-bought 🙂 .

They ended up selling my cake for $30!  I’m really pleased about that!  So, here’s the winning recipe:

Triple Chocolate Bundt Cake

  • 1 (18.25 ounce) package chocolate cake mix

  • 1 (3.9 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix

  • 1 cup vegetable oil

  • 4 eggs

  • 1/2 cup hot water

  • 1 cup sour cream

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a bundt pan.  Combine cake mix, pudding mix, oil, eggs, water, sour cream, and vanilla.  Beat until smooth.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Bake for 1 hour.  Allow to cool!

    8 Comments

    Filed under Brianna, Church Stuff, recipes

    8 responses to “For Auction

    1. Christene Houston

      I heard several other people wishing they had gotten it. Beautiful!

    2. Carmell Asher

      I had to leave before they auctioned it… it was one of the things I had my eye on!

    3. Heather Thoming

      I didn’t know that you made it! I thought it was from Nothin’ Bundt Cakes!! Well done!!

    4. Brianna Johnson

      Yeah, I made it a couple hours before the auction. I was trying to make it look like one of those bundt cakes so that it would bring in more money!!! I guess my plan worked 🙂 hee hee!

    5. Kim Roberts

      That looks a-ma-zing! Yum!

    6. Megan Johnson

      Great Job Brianna!!! I’m impressed! I think I can taste it in my mouth right now!!! 🙂

    7. How did you frost it like that?? Was it a decorator tip? It’s gorgeous!

    8. Heidi, I did use a decorator tip but I’ve used Ziplock bags with 1/2 inch cut off one of the corners. One of the most important things I’ve learned from this cake class is that everything comes down to pressure! More pressure and keeping it even makes the thicker lines. Just FYI 😉

    Leave a Reply

    