Conference

I love Conference!  My relationship with the gathering has changed over the years.  I loved it as a child, loved it as a newlywed.  I had mixed feelings about it when my children were really young and I couldn’t hear a word, but now I’m back to loving it!  The kids are older and more capable of sitting and listening or at least not bothering me so that I can listen 🙂 .

I was a little more prepared this year with packets for them to fill out as they listened.  They all had their own tent as well.  In past years they have all shared one tent and, as you can imagine, that never encouraged quiet listening.  Of course not all my children are capable of doing this.  Jacob is still too young to require or expect this type of behavior, but he is much more aware of what his siblings are doing and it trying to emulate them.

Here are some great links for packets that your children can do:

    

I love to do something special for my family’s breakfast each conference.  Sometime I make something special and other times I just buy something that they don’t normally get!  This time I decided to make crepes (something I’ve always feared was too difficult to make).  The crepes were so much easier than I would have ever imagined.  I kept waiting for it to get harder but it never did.  So I spiced things up a bit by throwing some ham and eggs onto them before adding them to the oven.  Here’s how I did it!

Simple Crepes (makes about 10 crepes)

1.  In a blender, combine 1 cup four, 1 Tb. sugar, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1 1/2 cups whole milk, 4 large eggs, and 3 Tb. unsalted butter (melted).

2.  Puree until mixture is smooth and bubbles form on top, about 30 seconds.  Let batter sit at least 15 minutes at room temperature (or refrigerate in an airtight container, up to 1 day; whisk before using).

3.  Heat a 12 inch skillet over medium.  Lightly coat with pam.  Add 1/3 cup batter and swirl to completely cover bottom of skillet.  Cook until underside of crepe is golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes.

4.  Loosen edges of crepe with a rubber spatula, then with your fingertips, quickly flip.  Cook 1 minute more.  Slide crepe out of skillet and repeat with remaining batter.  Repeat process until all batter is used, making sure to coat with pam before each turn.

This is the basic recipe for crepes, but that leaves you with so many options to create a beautiful masterpiece!  Here are a few ideas to get your imagination going!

Peanut Butter and Jam Crepe Roll

Spread 1 heaping Tb. each jam and peanut butter on a cooled crepe.  Roll, then slice into rounds with a serrated knife if desired.

Chocolate – Hazelnut and Banana Crepe

After flipping a crepe in the skillet, top with 2 Tb. chocolate – hazelnut spread, such as Nutella, and 1/2 banana, thinly sliced.  Cook until spread melts, about 1 minute.  Fold into quarters.

Ham and Egg Crepe Squares (pictured above)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place 4 crepes on a rimmed baking sheet.  Place 2 slices ham on each crepe.  Crack 1 large egg into center of each; fold edges toward center.  Season with salt and pepper.  Bake until egg white is set and yolk is still runny, about 12 minutes.  Top with chopped fresh chives.

Crepes with Veggies and Goat Cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place 4 crepes on a rimmed baking sheet.  Place 2 Tb. crumbled goat cheese and 1/2 cup roasted veggies, such as bell pepper, eggplant, mushroom, and onion, down the center of each crepe.  Season with salt and pepper.  Fold edges over filling.  Bake until cheese softens and filling is warm, about 5 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church Stuff, Family, Kids, recipes

Leave a Reply

