Egg Dying

With Easter being tomorrow, I thought it would be a good time to dye some eggs!  The kids have been asking all week to color eggs but I didn’t want to have to deal with them asking when the Easter Bunny would be coming every couple of hours so we postponed everything until this morning.

We ended up having two different egg dying stations.  On one side of the table we had the dyes that the children could use on their own.  On the other side it was more like “by appointment only” and you had to go through one of the adults first.  I know that sounds a little extreme, but for some reason one of the dying kits that we got was extremely permanent!  I happened to touch some of the colored water and I couldn’t get the color off until hours later.  There was NO WAY I was letting my kids around that, especially while they were clothed 🙂 .  So we compromised and said that they could do whatever they wanted with the dye in the white cups and then if they wanted the brighter colors they could just hand daddy or I their egg and tell us what color they wanted.

I try to keep things as simple as possible while still giving them all the experiences and childhood memories that I cherish so much.  If I was going to have each kid find about 10 eggs I knew I wanted the majority of those eggs to be edible and not full of candy.  I do include some candy filled eggs but what I do is grab one bag of jelly beans and however many eggs I can fill up with that one bag is how many plastic eggs we have that year.  The rest, usually 2 1/2 dozen eggs, are boiled and colored.  I love that they can be eaten as a snack or chopped up and made into egg salad for sandwiches later on.

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love how Jacob got into the action and colored a bunch of eggs.  I was pleased to see the kids helping him and hearing them give him praise when he was obviously so pleased with the work he had done.  The great thing is that none of it was contrived.  They really are great friends and want to see each other succeed.

Another great artist was Emma!  She had the most creative and beautiful eggs out of the group.  I don’t know, maybe that’s a girl thing 🙂 !

We shouldn’t have a problem finding these beauties tomorrow!  They’re like neon signs screaming “FIND ME!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Craft Projects, Family, Holidays, Kids

Leave a Reply

