Ice Cream Cupcakes

When Emma came home from school yesterday I got to hear all about Water Day and all the fun that she had.  Toward the end of our conversation I told her that this was going to be such a fun last week of school.  I could see that sinking in and you should have seen what followed.  She got really worked up because how was she supposed to bring cupcakes to school for her birthday if she wasn’t in school?  Good question!  I hadn’t really thought of it because this year is our first year as a nine month school instead of year around.  I quickly called up Mrs. Y and asked if there was a time this week that we could bring cupcakes in.  She was so nice about the whole situation and told me that they didn’t have much planned for tomorrow and that they would love to have a treat.  Wow!  Tomorrow!  Okay, so that didn’t give me much time to work with but I’d make it work, somehow!

My PTA meeting ran over and I didn’t get done until 9:00 pm so I ran to the grocery store right down the street.  Ugh!  I don’t know why people pay so much for store bought cupcakes.  My choices were limited and they looked like every other cupcake on the market.  So I ran down the cake aisle, grabbed a strawberry cake mix, a box of ice cream cones, and a jar of maraschino cherries.  I had everything else that I might need at home already.

I was home by 9:30 whipping together a strawberry cake mix.  The kids were already in bed which helped a lot.  I filled up 24 ice cream cones 3/4 full with mix.  I wanted them to be a bit more on the full side so that they would spill over and look like melting ice cream.  If you were going to do this and you didn’t want the excess only fill it about 1/4 to 1/2 full or you can always just chop off the top once it’s baked.

Once they came out of the oven I let them cool for about 20 minutes.  While they were cooling I took my husband’s 1 inch rotary drill-bit and drilled 24 holes into a cardboard box for transportation.  You would not believe how difficult it is to travel with these suckers.  It also gets a bit tricky to frost them when they are so wobbly so I recommend making the box before you frost.

I put one cupcake in each hole and using a large star tip, pipped whipped frosting onto each one.  While the frosting was still tacky I sprinkled a few colorful sprinkles and added a cherry on the very top!

When Emma came down for breakfast this morning she was so excited about her cupcakes!  And can you blame her?!?

2 Comments

Filed under Emma, Friends, Kindergarten, recipes

2 responses to “Ice Cream Cupcakes

  1. Wow! These look amazing and such a creative idea! Sooo cute!

  2. I found your blog from the month long cupcake party. This is a fabulous idea! I can imagine how excited your little one was to take them to school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

