The Long Road Home

We left for home late this afternoon.  We had packed up all our loot and were expecting a smooth ride home seeing how it was so easy to get here.  I could not have been more wrong.

Jared dropped Emma and I off at Down East to do a little modest shopping before we headed back to “sin city”.  While we were trying on clothes Jared took the boys down the street to check the car and get gas.  By the time we got back out on the road Benjamin started to complain that he wasn’t feeling well.  I dismissed it as carsickness and told him to close his eyes for a bit.

We were about 30 minutes from Provo when I heard him say, “MOMMY!” and then throw up all over the back seat!  We had to pull over and it took a good 30 minutes to clean up and get him new clothes.  He napped for a little bit after that but when he woke up he was telling me how hungry he was.  I, of course, did not want a repeat so gave him a little water and a small amount of bread.  He held it down and I realised that it was just a bad case of carsickness.

About an hour after the throwing up incident, Emma and Joseph both needed to go to the bathroom.  Since we were in the middle of no where we just pulled over and gave them some toilet paper 🙂 .

Our third stop was for food and gas.  Nothing spectacular but I had already had enough surprises for one day.

Our fourth stop was because of a flat tire!!!  You’ve got to be kidding me!  It’s like all the fates had conspired against our trip home.

Our fifth stop was unplanned and it was all Jared’s idea.  Well it was my idea but he actually made it happen.  I had been talking the whole ride about different spots that I would notice that would be good for picture spots.  Utah has some amazingly beautiful scenery, stuff that you don’t get in Vegas and I was feeling bad because I wasn’t able to utilize any of it.  I’d point out the railroad tracks as we’d pass them, an old abandoned barn, a solitary tree, open fields, fences, and on and on!  If you had the vision you could easily pull over to the side of the road and snap some pictures and no one would be the wiser.  Well, that’s exactly what we did 🙂 .

Jared saw a sign for a lavender farm and pulled off thinking that it would be fairly close to the exit.  It was several miles away and we just didn’t have that kind of time to spend on driving.  So, we pulled over, had Benjamin change into the church clothes that we brought and I started snapping pictures.

The main reason behind taking the pictures was because he is getting baptised at the end of the year and I wanted a nice one to put on invitations and in his baptism book.  It’s just made all the more special because it’s something that we did together!

  
  
  

Emma was the only other one that was awake and she wanted to join us as well.  I snapped a few of Emma as well.  With her it was much more natural.  In fact, most of the pictures I took I just happened to see things that she was doing and I’d snap a quick picture.  If I couldn’t get it in time I’d just have her hold the pose a little longer!  Such a photogenic little girl!

    
    

By the time I was done snapping pictures all up and down the road the other two had woken up and so they joined in on the fun.  I always jump at the opportunity to take pictures of all four of them together.  It doesn’t happen all that often so I need to make the most of it when the time arrises.

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Church Stuff, Emma, Kids, summer

Leave a Reply

