Class Halloween Pumpkins

Monday all three of the kids came home from school with these foam pumpkins.  There was a black one, an orange one, and a white one.  There was nothing great about them, but that’s why their teacher had sent them home.  To give them to me to make amazing!  One of the teacher’s notes said, “I know you’re create and thought you’d be the perfect person to decorate our class pumpkin”.  I think it’s just funny that all three teachers thought the same thing.  There’s some pressure for ya!

They needed these pumpkins decorated in time for the fall carnival tomorrow and of course I waited ’til the last possible moment to do them.  That’s when I’m most creative!  I had to do some good work because these guys were going to be auctioned off to the highest bidder and let’s be honest, who doesn’t want to have their pumpkin be the most expensive one out there!?!

                

So, I took Joseph’s black pumpkin and cut in half.  I was real worried that I’d get into trouble for doing that, but it turned out to be the best one of the bunch.

I found two matching framed art pieces at Goodwill for $1.99 each.  I took them apart, sprayed the frames black, added some cute Halloween paper, and sealed the back shut.  I added a little orange puffy paint to the edges of the frames to give it a bit more color.  I wanted to cover each pumpkin half in black glitter but I still had two other pumpkins to do and thought I’d come back to it if I had time.  As you can see, I didn’t have any more to spare!

   

I took Benjamin’s orange pumpkin and covered it in two coats of black craft paint.  This one I then made some slits in the sides to add some wire legs.

To make the wire legs I took some wire cut to size at Home Depot, covered it in a thin layer of batting, and made some simple black sleeves to shove them in.  I didn’t worry too much about the ends because I knew they’d be shoved inside the pumpkin and never seen again.  Once the legs were secure, I covered the pumpkin with black glitter and added some googlie eyes and a red puffy paint smile!

Emma’s was a bit more difficult.  The white pumpkin was so pretty, and I didn’t want to do the obvious thing, a skeleton skull.  I wanted it to be pretty and what I really wanted to do was a turkey!  My thought was if the festival is just a week before Halloween I’d like to get more use out of it than just a week.  I thought it would be fun to have a Thanksgiving type decoration as well.

I cut a hole in the top of the pumpkin.  I found a bunch of different fall flowers for 60% at Hobby Lobby and a bag of pine cone potpourri for $1.50 at Michael’s.  I arranged the flower piece and glued it into the top of the pumpkin.  I glued the pumpkin to the center of a gold charger.  I glued several pinecones around the base of the pumpkin and there you have it!  I beautiful centerpiece for your turkey day!!!

So there you have it!  Three very different ways to decorate a foam pumpkin for the holidays!

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Craft Projects, Emma, Holidays, Joseph, School

Leave a Reply

