Keep a Journal

“Get a notebook, a journal that will last through all time, and maybe the angels may quote from it for eternity. Begin today and write in it your goings and comings, your deepest thoughts, your achievements and your failures, your associations and your triumphs, your impressions and your testimonies. ‘Angels May quote from it.’ Remember, the Savior chastised those who failed to record important events.” ~Spencer W. Kimball

I love this quote!  And he’s so right when he says “angels may quote from it“.  Who’s to say that those angels won’t be our children or others that we may cross paths with on the road of life!  I’m so glad I ran across this quote because it just reaffirms to me the important need to keep a journal.

I’ve been encouraging Benjamin to write in the journal that the bishop gave him after his baptism.  At first he objected and I don’t really blame him.  I remember thinking that it was just another way for my parents to get me to do school work.  It was an amazing moment for me when I pulled out the journal that I received after my baptism and showed it to Benjamin.  As we read a couple of pages together I kept saying “oh yeah” and “I forgot about that”.  I told him that even the smallest detail is important and special because even after a week we forget what was important to us in that one moment.

I love how with just a few added moments of talking things out with my children and explaining to them the reason behind our request makes the act seem not so mundane or insignificant.  Children are capable of so much it’s just that we don’t always give them the credit.  I hope to remember this moment, both the lesson I was able to teach my son and the lesson I learned about him.  And that is why I keep a journal!

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, Brianna, Church Stuff

Leave a Reply

