Good-bye, Jenny!

Michael asked me to make a cake for Jenny since she leaves for England on Monday.  We had a little family get-together tonight to say good-bye.

I was kind of itching for the chance to use my Christmas present 🙂 .  I was nervous that I’d be spending tons of money on pre-made sugar sheets in order to use this machine but it turns out that I can use whatever fondant I have and just roll it onto the mat itself.  I sent Jared the picture of me using the machine while he was at work.  He was happy that I was using it!

The cake was a real quickie but I did like the little details.  In the middle of making the letters on the cutter I realised that the blade was broken and was chewing up my fondant and the mat.  I took it back and got another one which ended up working just fine.

I was just going to have the Union Jack and the writing but then, at the last-minute, I sculpted a little suitcase with black straps just as a nice little element.  The kids were impressed!

It was such a nice evening of family.  I’m so glad that we were able to say good-bye to Jenny and wish her well.  I hope that my love for her was shown in that cake and I can’t wait to see her again!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Combs Family, Friends, Michael and Amy

3 responses to “Good-bye, Jenny!

  1. Kristin McKee

    Omg! I love it!!!!

  2. Jenny Davies

    Thanks again for a wonderful cake, I shall miss you all so much. Have a great 2012 and hopefully I will see you in 2013. xxxx

    P.S. It tasted as good as it looked !!!

  3. Love you, Jenny! I’m so glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

