Jacob starts Pre-school

I got a call this morning telling me that Jacob was finally accepted to the preschool program at the kids’ school.  He was supposed to start several weeks ago but they had him at another school 10-15 minutes away.  I pushed to get him at the same school as the other kids and they told me it would just take some time.  Two weeks later he’s finally on his way to school!

Joseph was excited to have his little brother go to his school.  Jacob didn’t really react much until I started dressing him in his backpack.  The backpack was a big deal for him 🙂 .

Jacob could hardly wait for the bus to come.  We were outside waiting for almost 10 minutes before the bus came around the corner.  The boys kept busy playing out front together!  I didn’t notice how cold it was until we had been waiting.  I guess I should just assume that it’s going to be cold in January no matter how beautiful it looks outside.

       

I got a big lump in my throat when I saw the bus come around the corner.  If you look closely, you can see that Jacob started clapping the minute the bus came around the corner 🙂 .

  

He couldn’t get away from me fast enough!  It was like trying to hold back the wind.  The only consolation that I had was that he couldn’t have been smiling any more than he was today.  He was so excited!

I introduced him to his driver, Tom, but he was already pretty familiar with him since Joseph has been riding the same bus for months now.  You know he’s tiny when his legs don’t extend far enough for him to climb the steps 😦  Right then I was thinking of just taking him but I knew that wouldn’t go over well.

We love Tom at our house and I’d probably have serious hesitations if it were any other bus driver but he could see that this was hard on me and was such a great sport because of that.

        

So Joseph and Jacob get to sit next to one another on the bus, in their car seats.  These two are going to be the best of friends, I can just see it!  Joseph who is so capable and sure of himself gets to use that to help support his baby brother.  I see it all the time at home and I’m seeing it now as they go off to school together.  Simple things like Joseph reassuring Jacob as Tom is buckling him into his car seat, showing him how he wears one too and holding his hand to steady him 🙂 .  My heart somehow expands each and every time I see how tender he is with his little brother.

I followed the bus to the school just in case Jacob needed some extra reassurance when he got off  the bus.  Turned out that he was still grinning ear to ear!

I thought that putting him on the bus or waving good-bye to him would be the hardest part but all of that was a walk in the park compared to watching him walk down the hall to his new classroom 😦 .  If it were possible to rip someone’s heart out and them continue to stand and exist that’s what it was like for me.  It physically hurt to watch him walk away from me.  It has never been this hard to send one of my children to school.  I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that normally I’d still have a couple more years with him at home and then to see this barely three-year old walking the hallways it just really got to me.

I tried to leave the school and go back home but I was an emotional mess.  I didn’t want to go home to an empty house!  So, I stayed and helped out in Emma’s class for the rest of the day 🙂 .  It was good to get my mind off of Jacob and every once in a while I’d slip away to go take a peek at him in his classroom.  At times he looked completely lost but then I’d watch him look to Joseph for what to do.  His teacher was amazing with him as well.  I’m so glad that we waited a couple of weeks so that we could get him into this class.  His teachers are awesome and having his big brother in his class is spectacular!

1 Comment

Filed under Child Find, Jacob, Joseph

One response to “Jacob starts Pre-school

Leave a Reply

