We’re moving…. again!!!

It is finally official!  We’ve told everyone that needs to know and so I have the go-ahead to talk about it!  We are moving to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida!  It’s crazy and scary to think of because even though I dislike Vegas I have come to peace with the fact that we live here and that I was going to have to raise my family here and just make the best of it.  All of a sudden this curve ball has been thrown our way and we’re embracing it as best we can 🙂 .

We’re going to be putting the house on the market Wednesday night but my realtor called to see if he could come by and take pictures of the house to post.  That made me think that I should probably take pictures of everything while I still can, before things are packed up and unrecognizable.  I want to be able to look back on these pictures and remember the past 3 1/2 years perfectly!

    

Sweet Marisa has been good to us!  I remember first seeing the house and wanting to run in the opposite direction.  It was in horrible condition but my dad had a vision of what it could be and I will ever be grateful for that vision!  Everything we did to the house was a little project at a time.  One spring we put in the grass in the front and then a summer later we put grass all down the side of the house.  It’s amazing how wonderful grass is and how few homes have it in the valley.  I picked out flowers and plants more out of price than anything but then by what I saw.  70% of the flowers and bushes that I planted stayed green throughout the year.  I remember getting that fountain as a Christmas present from my parents one year and the kids thinking it was a big drinking fountain!

  

One thing that really sold us on the house was the minute you walked through the front door you were met with this wide and inviting two-story space!  It was perfect for Jared’s piano and made the house seem 10 times larger.  I also remember that when we first bought the house there was this red tile across the bottom floor of the downstairs.  There was a matching peach color paint to go with it that just made everything look really bad 😦 .  That was one of the first things we did when we moved in.  We painted, ripped all the flooring out of the entire house, and added new carpet and tile.  It was one of the hardest things to do but when it was done it was the most rewarding!

As you walked into the house there was a hallway off to the right that had the laundry (which led out to the garage), a half-bath, and we turned one of the 3-car garages into an office/guest room.  Unfortunately, I never got a picture of it as a guest room.  By the time I took this picture we had sold the extra bed and furniture for the move.

    

I loved the stairs!  I loved the wood railing and how it framed the huge wall.  I always wanted to stain it a darker color but now I don’t get that chance 😦 .  We had thought about putting in a wrought iron railing but I know how many times the kids or I fell and had to grab that railing, it wouldn’t have felt very nice if it had been metal.  Even though the color wasn’t my first choice I loved that it had the little landing in the middle.  Jacob did a lot of therapy on those few steps and landing.

              

Then there was the kitchen and eating area.  This area, along with the family room, are the heart of our home.  Homework, meals, F.H.E., all of those things and more happened in these three rooms.  I created some amazing cakes in this kitchen.  We had some great discussions and meals at that table.  I put a saying right over where we gather for meals and it says “The fondest memories are made when gathered around the table“.  That has been the case with this home!

     

    

I feel almost sick to my stomach having to leave my family room.  I finally got it done the way I wanted and now I have to leave.  It took me three years to finally get a built-in entertainment unit.  It’s beautiful and functional!!!  Someone’s wife is going to be very happy 😉 !

        

At the top of the stairs you are met with the kids’ loft.  I say the kids’ loft because that’s what it is.  It’s full of their toys, their things, and they’re always playing in it.  Just across from the loft, also at the top of the stairs, is a desk that we use for our computer.  It’s very central in the upstairs.  I love that I can be checking my email or Facebook while the kids are just feet away from me playing.  It’s also right at the entrance to the kids’ rooms so at night Jared or I can be doing work on it and it keeps the kids in bed 🙂 .

Just past the computer desk is Emma’s room!  I LOVE her room!!!  I remember moving all her furniture out to the loft while Jared and I frantically painted one night.  I remember waking up the next morning and thinking “What have I done!?!”  It was so bright, but once we moved the drop clothes out and moved her furniture back in it became better.  I hand painted the flowers and dotted lines along her walls.  Jared made her a canopy, he said, “Because every Princess needs a canopy!”.  She got the walk-in closet because this room is smaller than the other and we needed to fit two boys (at the time) in that room.

              

I remember that when we first moved into the house there was a doorway leading from Emma’s room to the boys’ room.  It was horrible because the kids were up all night running back and forth through that doorway.  One day, my dad came over and framed the wall and covered it in drywall.  Jared learned how to texture the wall and did it later that week.  The kids were so mad at us 🙂 .

              

The boy’s room was fun to do  but in a different way from Emma’s.  With girls it’s always so fun and pretty and dainty but with boys you can’t do any of that.  Since we had the three boys in the room with a five-year age span we couldn’t go real baby and we couldn’t go real big-boy.  I came up with the idea to theme the room with “Armor of God”.  I didn’t get to decorating the armor part of it but I did find these amazing pictures and photoshopped the verses that inspired us with what to name the boys.  I wanted something that the kids could turn to in times of trial and stress if they ever felt like they couldn’t come to Jared or I.  Each group of verses is specific to those boys and as I look at them now Jacob’s verses were there long before we ever knew had would have issues.  If nothing else, they give comfort to me.

Benjamin was named after King Benjamin (Words of Mormon 1:17-18)

17 For behold, king Benjamin was a holy man, and he did reign over his people in righteousness; and there were many holy men in the land, and they did speak the word of God with power and with authority; and they did use much sharpness because of the stiffneckedness of the people—

 18 Wherefore, with the help of these, king Benjamin, by laboring with all the might of his body and the faculty of his whole soul, and also the prophets, did once more establish peace in the land.

Joseph was named after several different Josephs (2 Nephi 3:3-5, 15)

3 And now, Joseph, my last-born, whom I have brought out of the wilderness of mine afflictions, may the Lord bless thee forever, for thy seed shall not utterly be destroyed.

 4 For behold, thou art the fruit of my loins; and I am a descendant of Joseph who was carried captive into Egypt. And great were the covenants of the Lord which he made unto Joseph.

 5 Wherefore, Joseph truly saw our day. And he obtained a promise of the Lord, that out of the fruit of his loins the Lord God would raise up a righteous branch unto the house of Israel; not the Messiah, but a branch which was to be broken off, nevertheless, to be remembered in the covenants of the Lord that the Messiah should be made manifest unto them in the latter days, in the spirit of power, unto the bringing of them out of farkness unto light—yea, out of hidden darkness and out of captivity unto freedom.

15 And his name shall be called after me; and it shall be after the name of his father. And he shall be like unto me; for the thing, which the Lord shall bring forth by his hand, by the power of the Lord shall bring my people unto salvation.

Jacob was named after the prophet Jacob (2 Nephi 2:2-4)

2 Nevertheless, Jacob, my first-born in the wilderness, thou knowest the greatness of God; and he shall consecrate thine afflictions for thy gain.

 3 Wherefore, thy soul shall be blessed, and thou shalt dwell safely with thy brother, Nephi; and thy days shall be spent in the service of thy God. Wherefore, I know that thou art redeemed, because of the righteousness of thy Redeemer; for thou hast beheld that in the fulness of time he cometh to bring salvation unto men.

 4 And thou hast beheld in thy youth his glory; wherefore, thou art blessed even as they unto whom he shall minister in the flesh; for the Spirit is the same, yesterday, today, and forever. And the way is prepared from the fall of man, and salvation is free.

To kind of round out the room I picked two of my favorite scriptures regarding young men and put them on the wall as well.

(Alma 56:46-48)

46 For as I had ever called them my sons (for they were all of them very young) even so they said unto me: Father, behold our God is with us, and he will not suffer that we should fall; then let us go forth; we would not slay our brethren if they would let us alone; therefore let us go, lest they should overpower the army of Antipus.

 47 Now they never had fought, yet they did not fear death; and they did think more upon the liberty of their fathers than they did upon their lives; yea, they had been taught by their mothers, that if they did not doubt, God would deliver them.

 48 And they rehearsed unto me the words of their mothers, saying: We do not doubt our mothers knew it.

(Alma 48:17-18)

17 Yea, verily, verily I say unto you, if all men had been, and were, and ever would be, like unto Moroni, behold, the very powers of hell would have been shaken forever; yea, the devil would never have power over the hearts of the children of men.

 18 Behold, he was a man like unto Ammon, the son of Mosiah, yea, and even the other sons of Mosiah, yea, and also Alma and his sons, for they were all men of God.

I wanted my boys to not grow up with idols like Justin Beiber and whoever else but true heroes like Joseph Smith and Ammon.  Eventually I wanted to buy some armour from a prop shop or wherever and have it mounted on the wall for the boys to always remember to put on the armour of God every day.

              

I just finished painting the kids’ bathroom across the hall from the boys’ room.  I love the clean and refreshing look of the blue and white together.  And I love the fact that the kids still use their hoodie towels even though they’re getting bigger 🙂 .

This house has been so much fun and will hold so many memories but I know that the next house we have will be just as special and just as amazing because it’s our family that makes it such a special place not the actual walls!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, House, Work

One response to “We’re moving…. again!!!

  1. Pingback: My House* |

Leave a Reply

