The First Day. Dun dun dun!

I arrived at the office around 10:00 a.m., a day earlier than they were expecting. When I drove into the parking garage, I could immediately feel the pressure of the new firm. It was strange, how it just hit me, the increased complexity of the companies that I would be working with, the atmosphere that I would be in, and the politics that would be inevitable. I’m glad that it happened in the parking lot, because it gave me a chance to collect my thoughts before going inside.

The rest of the day was a blur. The office manager’s world was turned upside down because she wasn’t expecting me until Wednesday (I was supposed to be in the West Palm Beach office on Tuesday, but hadn’t been told), and I technically wasn’t an employee yet. Could I or couldn’t I have any contact with confidential information?

Fortunately, I was able to get a hold of some files and just start working to forget the administrative business. Also, we were able to do most of the in-office training so that I could work more on Wednesday.

During all of the unpacking, I was able to stop and enjoy the window that occupies a whole wall fo my office. I love it! The rest of the office will have to wait until a more … aesthetic eye comes to decorate. Brianna has always had that talent. That’s why she’s such a great photographer and baker, too. It’s all in the presentation, and she knows how to do it.

I was so tired. I don’t remember much after arriving at the place where I would be staying. A blur.

Leave a comment

Filed under Jared, Work

Leave a Reply

