Benjamin Boxing

So Benjamin’s been going to boxing this week and he is LOVING it!  I think it’s great that he’s found something that’s just his like soccer used to be but then everyone else got into it too.  There’s nothing wrong with that but I think there’s something about claiming something as “your” sport or activity.  Emma has dance, Benjamin has boxing, and they all do piano and soccer.  I can see we’re moving into a different stage of childhood than what we were used to.

Benjamin has three different coaches that work different types of boxing on different days of the week.  I’m trying to have him go Monday thru Friday just because we won’t be here much longer.  I also feel that if he’s willing to put forth the effort and time then I should try my hardest to get him there.  The kids have been doing their homework in the car and it’s turned out pretty good.

Tuesday is our crazy day!  He gets home from school at 3:50 and class starts at 4 o’clock.  Luckily the gym is just two minutes from our house so it’s no big deal.  Class goes from 4:00 – 5:00 and then scouts starts at 5:30pm.  He has just enough time to change into his scout shirt, do a bit of homework and get to scouts.  Scouts is out at 6:30pm but on regular Tuesdays I have YW meetings from 5:15 – 6:30 and then YW from 6:30 – 8:30.  My mom is being really helpful in watching the kids during that time but I have a feeling that something’s going to give and I don’t think it’ll be the kids.

As crazy as things can get I wouldn’t change a thing!  It’s great to sit down at the end of the day and have a real sense of accomplishment, as long as the kids felt the same way!

Benjamin’s doing so much better and getting more powerful each day.  This is him after only three days of lessons.  We just need to keep working on keeping his arms up, but that will come naturally as he gets stronger.

Leave a comment

Filed under Benjamin, sports

Leave a Reply

