Papa and Emma’s Date

While at dance a few weeks ago I saw a flier that was advertising the production of Cinderella that was going to be taking place in an outdoor theater tonight.  Emma LOVES all things Cinderella so I bribed my dad into taking her out on a date.  My bribing went something like…

ME:  “What you doing next Friday night?”

Papa: “Nothing.  Why?”

ME:  “You want to take Emma on a date?”

Papa:  “Sure, sounds like fun!”

Man, I really had to twist his arm 😉 .  He called earlier tonight to say that he was going to pick her up early and take her to dinner too.  It was so funny when he came to the door and she was all dressed up and ready to go.  He looked her over and said, “Maybe I should have dressed up a bit more?!?”  He looked nice already but it was cute that these two were so excited to go out together 🙂 .


First up was dinner at Claim Jumper.  We’ve had our fair share of that place over the last couple of weeks but when my dad would sent me pictures throughout the night it sure looked like she was enjoying herself.

I love that my daughter is learning how a date should be so that her expectations are high for when she becomes old enough to actually date.  It’s not so much about going to dinner and a show and having expectations about the activity and the money spent but more that daddy tells her on his dates that gentlemen should open the doors and treat her like a princess and my little girl held her date tonight to that standard 🙂 .

I loved going on dates with my dad.  Some of my most treasured memories of him are on our dates.  I think that one-on-one time (with no distractions) is important for developing a healthy sexual identity.

Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella was performed at the Henderson Pavillion.  The weather was perfect for an outdoor event.  It looked like they got good seats and I can almost hear Emma gasping in awe at Cinderella.

The perfect thing for a little girl to still be in love with!

I had expected my dad to just bring Emma home after the play but then I started getting picture texts from him with Emma eating pie.  Turns out, he took her to The Cheesecake Factory after and they split a banana cream cheesecake!  Now I’m just jealous!

    

It was 11:00 pm when my dad’s car finally pulled in the driveway.  I was so surprised especially since I reminded him of her curfew.  I know I told him in jest because I wanted to jab him a bit after all his reminders as a teenager but mostly because I didn’t think that they would possibly be out that late.

When I opened the door they were both standing there smiling back at me and I had to catch my breath for a second.  Emma looked so beautiful and so grown-up.  It was almost as if in the 5 hours that she was away from me something inside of her had blossomed.  She no longer looked like a little girl but more like a young woman.  It was the way she carried herself and the way that she looked and talked to me in that very brief few seconds of opening the door.  It really threw me for a minute and I realised that she’s growing up.  It’s one of those things that somewhere in your brain you know is happening but then one day it all clicks.  Tonight was my “oh my gosh” moment.

I helped her get ready for bed and then snuggled in her bed with her until she fell asleep.  I don’t know how much longer I’ll be able to do that so I took advantage of that tonight, while I could.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dates, Emma, Nana and Papa

Leave a Reply

