Our July 4th

Today was our annual ward 4th of July bash over at the Frey’s house.  I was able to find some kind of happy place even though I’m not thrilled about still being here in town.  We were supposed to be driving our moving truck out on Monday and this party was going to have a whole different meaning to it for me.  It was going to be more of a “good-bye, see you later” kind of thing but we’re not moving now and I spent a lot of the time answering questions that I have no answers to.  It will be nice to stay with our friends but it took me so long to get used to the idea of moving so far away that it’s going to take a while for me to get used to the fact that we’re staying.

. 

The longer we were there the more I was able to relax and enjoy everyone.  It was clear to me that the kids were resilient and were going to be fine with whatever comes our way over the next few months.  They enjoyed their friends and the pool and the combination of the two!  The whole time we were there I kept thanking Kami in my mind for giving my kids swimming lessons during spring break.  It has been wonderful to not stress over counting my children every two seconds because you’re afraid they can’t swim.  You still watch but you don’t have to lose hair over it 🙂 .  Jacob really enjoyed himself this year!  I felt a tiny bit bad that he had to wear Emma’s old Cinderella life vest but only marginally.  He didn’t seem to mind so I made it a point not to mind either.

The kids swam so much that their eyes were burning from the chlorine.  When Joseph hopped out for dinner and I asked him to smile he had to physically hold his eyes open for me.  It was fine after a few minutes but I love that they were so involved that they didn’t have any time to think of themselves, they just immersed themselves in their play.  They needed that!

.  

A couple of hours into our play Nana, Papa, Michael and Amy showed up with a special guest!  I guess Grandpa had driven down to St. George with some other family and my dad drove up early this morning to pick him up and bring him down here to celebrate with us.

It was so nice to see him out and about.  I think he had a fun time.  I know that the kids had a blast seeing him again.  It was nice to see him in a different setting from the last one we saw him in.  And there was a lot of celebrating going on which helped, I think.

…..  

The swimming was wonderful!  It was the perfect setting to celebrate our nations birth.  With the sun setting and surrounded by friends the kids got ready to watch the fireworks.  Joseph chose to sit on the swing even though he was surrounded by little girls.  Nothing wavers that little boy 🙂 .

. 
We had some of the best fireworks that I’ve seen in a long time.  Since Brother Frey and his son are computer geeks like my dad, they timed and wired the fireworks to explode to the Star Wars music.  He had found or arranged several songs so that the whole show ended up being about 15 minutes.  It was beautiful and extremely exciting.

 

Emma still doesn’t like the noise and the boom that happens in her chest as a result of the fireworks.  Jacob didn’t like the noise but didn’t mind standing and watching and always wanted a better look.  Since we don’t have fireworks all that often Benjamin and Joseph had some issues at the beginning but slowly eased into it.

Happy 4th of July!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Combs Family, Family, Friends, Holidays, Michael and Amy, The Great Combs'

Leave a Reply

