Inspiration

So, moving back into the house has been nice but very tedious.  I’ve been doing a lot of deep cleaning (something I was planning on doing when we moved into the new house) and a lot of reorganizing.

I was out to lunch with Jared the other day and looked out the window and saw THE CONTAINER STORE!!!  I had heard wonderful things about it and so planned on taking a quick peek before heading back home.  Boy was I underestimating the quick part of that trip 🙂 .

It has everything under the sun that would make your life easier and nice clean/ simple ways to organize all your stuff.  I was in O.C.D. heaven!!!

I went up and down just about every isle getting ideas and making notes as to what measurements I needed to get when I got home.  On my way out I passed an isle that had wrapping paper and bows in it.  Didn’t think much of it until I spotted this beautiful roll of paper.  It had my blue as the background but it had browns and reds and yellows as well that all played off of each other so well.

Part of the problem I’ve been having with unpacking has been the urge to take a sledge-hammer to my walls and demo everything.  In the six months that we’ve been moving and not moving it took me a good 2-3 months to mourn the fact that we were leaving our house, a house that we have lived in longer than any other.  Our house that we put so much time and hard work into.  Our house that we had so many memories, both good and bad, and it took me that long to be okay with moving away from it.  After I had moved on, no pun intended, thinks started to break and I started to see the faults in my house.  I thought to myself, it’s alright it’s not my house anymore, it’s not my problem.  Now I’m facing the consequences of that mindset.  It’s not that I hate my house, there are still so many things that I love about it and I’m thrilled that we’ll get to stay in the same ward, same school, near family and friends, but I need some way to get over all the negative things I’ve been thinking about my house for the last 4-5 months.  I saw this wrapping paper as just that!!!

I’ve always loved and tried to decorate my home with blue.  It’s been difficult when the majority of decor for the last 10 years has been red and green.  Now things are starting to change and the new “trend” is leaning toward my blue!  It’s exciting because there are more options out there and ideas but I’m excited to paint our family room/kitchen area a new color and give our home some new life.

1 Comment

Filed under Brianna, House

One response to “Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Chip It! |

Leave a Reply

