Say Good-bye to the Kitchen Sink

So I kind of made a mistake thinking I could fix this on my own (as you can see from the picture to the left).  Usually I’m really good at fixing things around the house so that Jared has more time to just hang out with us but this time I bit off a little more than I could chew.

Last Saturday we were out looking at stainless steel sinks to replace the broken, chipped porcelain sink we have now.  In deciding on a style I had requirements like the gauge of the steel and the depth of the sink but other than that I was pretty open.  I mainly just wanted a new sink.  Jared like the look of the apron front sinks but we’d have to cut into our granite countertops and go with porcelain again and I couldn’t compromise on that.  He also really liked the look of having no beveled edge on the sink like we have now.  He liked the clean look of just having a flat surface.  I was really apprehensive about that because we have this horrid air-gap that spews water out every time I run the dishwasher and I didn’t want to deal with the water going all over the counters every night I ran the dishwasher.  We settled on a sink that we both liked that was wider than usual to give Jared that feel of the apron front sink but I was still apprehensive about the air-gap issue.

So, we bought this sink that was wonderful but my apprehensions about the air-gap were keeping me from fully falling in love with it.  It’s been sitting in our living room, in its box, since Saturday.  Jared said that he would find out how to fix the air-gap so that I wouldn’t have to worry about the water spilling out so that made me feel a little better about getting the sink but I wouldn’t really feel good about it until it was done.  I got kind of restless and thought that I could figure out how to adjust the air-gap so that the water would flow into the sink instead of half in the sink and half on the counter.  As you can see from the picture above, it didn’t go so well.

I guess there was a metal piece under the rubber ring that had completely corroded and disintegrated.  Consequently, as I was cleaning off the rubber ring it snapped in half.  I disconnected the hose under the sink and fixed things down there but then I couldn’t figure out how to put everything back together.  That’s about when one of the kids decided to start the dishwasher 😦 .  So with a broken rubber ring and water gushing all over the kitchen I came to the conclusion that I can’t fix it and I needed Jared’s help.

I cleaned up the water, and texted Jared the picture above and asked if he could pick up the right parts to fix it.  I felt horrible because I’m sure he would have eventually gotten around to fixing things but I got so wrestles and it forced him to have to do it now instead of later.

He came home with the parts and as he was putting things back together it suddenly dawned on me that I had been putting the pieces on backward!!!  I could have fixed it and it all would have been fine if I had paid more attention to how I was taking it all apart.  But it was too late.  Jared started separating the sink from the countertop and I was left feeling very sheepish.

      

I was glad he wasn’t upset with me.  Bless his heart, he never is.  Since he had taken apart most of the pipes he just figured… why not!

He had that sink out within minutes.  I hardly had time to think about what was going on before it was out and he was asking me for the new sink.  It’s so exciting!

In retrospect, I’m glad that he started doing all that stuff last night.  It gave us a chance to put the new one in, seal it and let it dry overnight.  We weighed the sink down with some of his old law school books and ended up not using the mounting brackets.  In getting ready for this new sink I had read all the comments that people had regarding it.  It seemed that people had a really hard time with the brackets and that it warped and dented their sink.  I was nervous that would happen to our sink but when we realised that our old sink only had the seal on it and that the weight of the sink is what kept it in place we didn’t even go in the direction of the brackets.

It looks gorgeous!  It feels enormous, especially compared to what we had before and it has made me fall in love with my kitchen a little bit again!

6 Comments

Filed under Brianna, House, Jared

6 responses to “Say Good-bye to the Kitchen Sink

  1. Tammy Weller

    The next time you two have insomnia can you please come visit my kitchen? 🙂

  2. Kristin McKee

    Oooh that’s nice!! Can he come over and put one in at my house too?!

  3. Heck no, Kristin! Now that I know he can do these things he’s booked solid for the rest of his life 🙂

  4. Kristin McKee

    Lol … My husband is not handy at all 😦

  5. Michael Combs

    Lookin shnazy!!

Leave a Reply

