Painter Cake

My friend called me up at the beginning of the week asking if I could make a 30th birthday cake for another friend of hers.  She didn’t give me much to go off other than mentioning that her friend was a painter.  I find it much easier to have a clear vision of what they want or like because I can always find a way to make it work.  Like the last time my friend called me up for an angry bird cake for her little guys birthday that was pretty easy to conceptualize and execute.  I had WAY too many ideas for this cake and I think I bit off more than I could chew.  Making and building the cake wasn’t the problem it was the idea that I had created that wasn’t executed as well.

I toyed with the idea of making a cake with a paintbrush and easel on it but then I thought that was going to literal, and slightly childish.  The girl was turning 30 and didn’t need a big bright rainbow of colors on her “sophisticated” cake.  I did a little Facebook stalking and found the friend that was turning 30.  I looked through a bunch of her art work that she had displayed in her photos and came up with the idea of incorporating two of her paintings into the cake.  I picked paintings that had similar color concepts and had the right kind of angles and images that I could recreate in frosting/fondant.

 

Right there should have been a big red flag!  You should never try to recreate someone elses creation because you’ll always fall short!

 

I made several chocolate flowers using the black, white, and yellow coloring of her painting.  I was just going to make the flower heads to make a nod to her painting and not recreate the entire thing.  Those were more difficult than I had imagined.  I need to work on my chocolate skills!  I then made black fondant and created her city mural.  That was pretty fun especially since the kids watched me sketch it on paper and then watched how I used that template to make the black fondant city.

I put everything together and was really happy until I took a step back.  It didn’t work the way I had thought it would.  I probably should have used gray frosting instead of keeping it white.  More importantly, I didn’t know if she’d get it!?!  I didn’t want to be presumptuous and assume that I could recreate her art work and I wanted it to be something fun for her (how often do you get to eat your artwork) but I just didn’t know how it would go off.

Her father picked up the cake and seemed pleased but I’m still a little nervous about hearing the birthday girl’s critique!

P.S. Doesn’t it look like Gotham City!?! CRAP!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Brianna, Cakes, Friends

Leave a Reply

