Halloween Brownies

I have had this urge to bake and bake and bake ever since conference. I think it’s this time of year and the cooler weather that gets me all fired up. I have a list, an actual list, of things that I want to make for my family, friends, and things to create with my kids. One of the first things was these brownies! I’ve seen them all over Pinterest and I am a sucker when it comes to all things chocolate and mint, especially when the two are combined! I just put a little spin on it and made them a little more whimsical and inviting to the kids although what kid is not going to want to eat any kind of brownie!?!

I had planned on making these for Joseph’s kindergarten Halloween party so I thought I’d do a dry run and make sure I could do it. After going through the entire process I’m sad to say that they are a little to time-consuming for such a small party like that but it was fun to do and even more fun to enjoy. It was the perfect FHE treat and I’m glad the kids got to enjoy them because so many times I make things and they don’t get to enjoy them because they are for others.

* 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
* 1 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
* 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
* 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/2 teaspoon fine salt
* 1 1/4 cup sugar
* 1/2 pound bittersweet chocolate chips (1 1/2 cups)
* 3 large eggs
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* 32 miniature chocolate peppermint patties, like York
* melted white chocolate for decorating

 1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly butter and 8-inch square pan and line with parchment paper, leaving a 2-inch overhang on all sides. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.  In a medium saucepan, melt butter, sugar, and bittersweet chocolate over medium, stirring frequently, until smooth.  Add to flour mixture and stir to combine.  Stir in eggs and vanilla, then let cool to room temperature, 10 minutes.

2. Transfer batter to pan.  Press 16 peppermint patties evenly into batter and, with a small offset spatula, evenly spread batter to completely cover patties.

3. Bake until cake is puffed and just set, about 35 minutes.  Let cool on a wire rack, 25 minutes, then top with 16 peppermint patties.  Let cool 25 minutes more, then decorate peppermint patties with candy eyes and chocolate chip ears.  Refrigerate until chocolate is set, 5 minutes.  Using parchment, lift cake from pan and cut into 16 squares.  Decorate with icing pens.

I made just a few changes to the above recipe by making it larger but it’s key to make sure you wait for it to cool during the aloted time.  If you don’t wait long enough the brownies will be too hot and will melt the patty all over.  You’re just waiting long enough for the patty to slightly melt (you can see how shiny they are in the pictures above, showing the chocolate is melted but still retaining it’s shape).

I decided to add some fangs to the other half of the brownies and then they looked more like bats the kids said. So I guess either way you do it and depending if you want to spend an extra two minutes on this treat you can have yummy cats or yummy bats!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Brianna, Cakes, Holidays, recipes

Leave a Reply

