Apples for School!

With it being the last day of school I wanted something special to bring to Benjamin’s class party.  What could be more special than three dozen apples for the teacher!

I used my triple chocolate cake recipe and made 36 cupcakes.  While they were cooling, I whipped up a batch of buttercream frosting.  I separated out about a cup of the frosting to use for later while  I used Wilton’s red food coloring gel to get a deep pink color for the rest.  I would have needed the entire container of gel to get it to the shade of red that I wanted but I knew that I was going to be covering the frosting in red sugar crystals so it wasn’t that big of a deal.

Using my one-inch circular decorating tip, I pipped jumbo sized dots, one on each cupcake.  While the icing was still “wet” I went ahead and rolled the tops in a bowl full of red sugar crystals.  Be sure not to push them too hard on any one side or it will squish and you won’t get that nice rounded look.

Once they were all sprinkled I stuck one pretzel stick in the top center of each “apple”.  That was to be the stem.  Once each apple had a stem they needed a leaf or two.  Using the cup of buttercream that I had separated out at the beginning I tinted that green using a bit of the Wilton blue and yellow gels.  Using the leaf tip, I pipped a leaf onto the top of each of the apples.

I’m really excited about the way these turned out!  And in all honesty, they didn’t take much more than an hour and a half from start to finish.  That includes cooking and cooling times.  Oh yeah, and an episode of Modern Family!


(Sorry about the pictuers.  My camera battery died and we were on our way out the door for school so I had to use my phone.)

14 Comments

Filed under Benjamin, Brianna, recipes, School

14 responses to “Apples for School!

  1. Look at you my fantastic friend!! I was hoping you took pictures… I want some of those for my next party!!!

  2. I am in love with this idea. They look so perfectly yummy! Thanks for sharing. (found you on a link party, now following)
    jandmseyecandy.blogspot.com

  3. Sooo yummy and PERFECT looking! I could never get my cupcakes to look like that! Fabulous!

  4. Wow, these are seriously AWESOME!!

  5. how did you get the frosting so perfectly rounded? this is so amazing!!

    • Thumbalisa, it’s all in the wrist! Sounds funny but it’s true! Just make sure to pipe enough on at the beginning (about size of a large egg) or you won’t get that great dome shape to it.

  6. Aunt Becky Limb

    Bri, you do great things!!

  7. Thanks, Becky! That means a lot. I just hope my kids feel the same way since I do it for them 🙂

  8. Aunt Becky Limb

    I think I need some lessons!! Some time when you’re hear we should get girls together and play!!

  9. Just had to swing by and comment again that I’m having a month long Cupcake Link Party! I’d love for you to link this and any other cupcake related post you have. 🙂

  10. These are soo adorable. I work in a school and am planning to make these for staff for the 1st day back. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a comment