Kick off Reading Week

Next week is national Reading Week!!!!  Can you tell I’m excited???  😀

Anyway, to kick it off and to help get everyone in the right frame of mind, the teachers of the school put on a fun little skit.  I completely forgot to bring my camera, which would have been a good idea (blackmail 🙂 ) ’cause it was ABSOLUTELY hilarious!!!

They did a skit based on American Idol with different characters from classic books auditioning to go to Hollywood.  There was:

  • Ms. Frizzle, The Magic School Bus (The wheels on the bus)
  • Charlotte, Charlotte’s Web (The Itsy Bitsy Spider)
  • Scooby Doo, (Who let the dogs out)
  • Amelia, Amelia Bedelia (got too offended so she didn’t sing)
  • Junie, Junie B. Jones (Big girls don’t cry)
  • Nate, Nate the Great (danced to the MI theme music)
  • Harry, Harry Potter (Do you believe in magic?)

It was so much fun to go and enjoy the different characters, some that I had completely forgotten about.  What was even better, was the fact that the kids were asking questions about the books and if we could start reading some of the stories.  I absolutely love it when my kids get excited about books!  And I hope that we can start reading some of these stories soon.

Go and read a book!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Kids, School

Leave a comment